Statement by Jean-Pierre Blais, Chairman of the CRTC, on paper bill fees

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, Aug. 28, 2014 /CNW/ - "Today, the two CRTC Vice-Chairpersons hosted a meeting with nearly a dozen telecommunications and broadcasting distribution companies, including the largest communication companies in the country, on paper bill fees. The Vice-Chairpersons have reported back to their colleagues, including myself, on today's outcomes. While the companies agreed to adopt consistent exemptions to such fees, they were unable to reach a consensus to eliminate them entirely.

Many Canadians who will not benefit from the exemptions will be disappointed with the outcome so far.

Finally, I would like to commend Cogeco Cable, MTS Allstream, SaskTel and Shaw Communications for not charging their customers for paper bills. This business decision ensures that their customers can make reasonable and informed choices about how they are billed for their communication services. Canadians should keep this in mind when they select service providers."


Follow us on Twitter: @CRTCeng

Ask a question or make a complaint
These documents are available in alternative format upon request.


SOURCE: Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

For further information: Media relations: Tel.: 819-997-9403; Fax: 819-997-4245; General inquiries: Tel.: 819-997-0313, TDD: 819-994-0423; Fax: 819-994-0218, Toll-free No.: 1-877-249-CRTC (2782), TDD - Toll-free No.: 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890