Canada's Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium To Deliver More Than 5,500 Hours of Olympic Games Coverage for London 2012

- More choice than ever before with largest four screen experience on television, computer, smart phone, and tablet platforms -

- CTV's Brian Williams and RDS' Chantal Machabée helm Prime Time broadcasts live from London -

To tweet this release: http://bit.ly/JRDwg3

TORONTO, June 1, 2012 /CNW/ - Canada's Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium has announced its commitment to delivering Canadians the best Summer Games experience ever. The Consortium is bringing viewers more than 5,500 hours of coverage - the equivalent of more than 229 days of content or close to two thirds of a year - during the 17 days of London 2012, more than any other Games. The Consortium's plan includes 2,000+ hours of television coverage in 11 different languages and 3,500+ hours of digital coverage. Additionally, the Consortium has confirmed the schedules for its conventional and dedicated sport channels which range between 15 - 22 hours of coverage per day. This plan ensures Canadians have as many options as possible to watch their favourite events.

A breakdown of hours and schedules is below.

HOURS OF COVERAGE FOR LONDON 2012

Television

In total, more than 2,000 hours will be broadcast on Consortium television stations:

  • English coverage on CTV, TSN, Sportsnet, and OLN - 1,114 hours
  • French coverage on RDS and V - 704 hours
  • Multi-lingual coverage on OMNI.1, OMNI.2, and ATN - 223 hours
    • Languages include Bangla, Cantonese, Hindi, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Punjabi, Tamil, and Urdu

Digital

More than 3,500 hours of coverage will be available online and on mobile devices at CTVOlympics.ca and RDSolympiques.ca:

  • Live streaming of coverage from CTV, RDS, TSN, Sportsnet, and V - 1,431 hours
  • Live streaming of events from various Olympic venues - 2,100 hours

"We are committed to bringing Canadians a robust Olympic Games experience, whether on television or digital platforms," said Adam Ashton, President, Canada's Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium. "With 26 sports, plus a sizeable time difference and so many people on the go during the Summer, it is important to provide Canadians with a choice on how, when, and where they want to consume London 2012 content."

DAILY SCHEDULES

CTV

Show Times Hosts Coverage
Olympic Morning 4 a.m. - 12 p.m. ET
1 a.m. - 9 a.m. PT

(9 a.m. - 5 p.m. BST*)
Dave Randorf
Catriona Le May Doan
Live Sports
Olympic Daytime 12 - 6 p.m. ET
9 a.m. - 3 p.m. PT

(5 - 11 p.m. BST*)
James Duthie
Jennifer Hedger
Live Sports
Olympic Prime Time 7 - 11 p.m. ET/CT/MT/PT
8 - 12 a.m. AT

(12 - 4 a.m. BST*)
Brian Williams Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews 
Olympic Overnight 12 - 4 a.m. ET

(5 - 9 a.m. BST*)
Brian Williams Encore presentation of Olympic Prime Time in ET

RDS

Show Times Hosts Coverage
Londres 2012 à RDS 4 a.m. - 12 p.m. ET
(9 a.m. - 5 p.m. BST*)

12 - 6:30 p.m. ET
(5 - 11:30 p.m. BST*)
Claude Mailhot

Alain Crête
Live Sports
Aujourd'hui à Londres sur RDS 7 - 11 p.m. ET

(12 - 4 a.m. BST*)
Chantal Machabée Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews 
Aujourd'hui à Londres sur RDS - Rediffusion 12 - 4 a.m. ET

(5 - 9 a.m. BST*)
Chantal Machabée Encore presentation of Aujourd'hui à Londres sur RDS

TSN

Show Times Hosts Coverage
Olympic Morning 6 a.m. - 12 p.m. ET

(11 a.m. - 5 p.m. BST*)
Kate Beirness Live Sports
Olympic Daytime 12 - 5 p.m. ET

(5 - 10 p.m. BST*)
Michael Landsberg Live Sports
Olympic Prime Time 7 - 11 p.m. ET

(12 - 4 a.m. BST*)
Darren Dutchyshen Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews 

Sportsnet

Show Times Hosts Coverage
Olympic Morning 6 a.m. - 12 p.m. ET
3 a.m. - 9 a.m. PT

(11 a.m. - 5 p.m. BST*)
Don Taylor Live Sports
Olympic Daytime 12 - 5 p.m. ET
9 a.m. - 2 p.m. PT

(5 - 10 p.m. BST*)
Daren Millard Live Sports
Olympic Prime Time 7 - 11 p.m. ET/CT/MT/PT
8 p.m. - 12 a.m. AT

(12 - 4 a.m. BST*)
Brad Fay Best of day highlights and feature interviews 

V

Show Times Hosts Coverage
Londres 2012 à V 4 a.m. - 12 p.m. ET
(9 a.m. - 5 p.m. BST*)

12 - 6 p.m. ET
(5 - 11 p.m. BST*)
Yanick Bouchard

Frédéric Plante
Live Sports
Aujourd'hui à Londres sur V 7 - 11 p.m. ET
(12 - 4 a.m. BST*)
Jean Pagé Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews 

*BST - British Summer Time (five hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time)

In addition, 10 Rogers Radio stations will provide listeners with Olympic Games coverage, including the Opening and Closing Ceremonies, a daily hour-long highlights show, and updates three times an hour everyday during the Games. The 10 stations are: 1310News (Ottawa), 680News (Toronto), News1130 (Vancouver), 660News (Calgary), 570News (Kitchener, Ont.), News95.7 (Halifax), News 88.9 (Saint John, N.B.), News91.9 (Moncton), Sportsnet 590 The FAN (Toronto), and Sportsnet 960 The FAN (Calgary). The national hour of Prime Time Sports with Bob McCown (6 - 7 p.m. ET) airing on Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN and 19 other radio stations across the country, will also be dedicated to London 2012.

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS

Twitter
@CTVOlympics
@RDSolympiques

Facebook
facebook.com/ctvOlympics
facebook.com/RDSolympiques

About Canada's Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium

Canada's Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium is a unique relationship led by Canada's #1 broadcaster, CTV with 80% interest, along with Rogers Media Inc. with 20% interest. The Consortium will provide unprecedented English, French, and multi-lingual coverage and consumer choice on multiple platforms during the London 2012 Olympic Games, taking place July 27 to August 12, 2012. Official brands include CTV, TSN, RDS, RDS Info, Sportsnet, OMNI, OLN, V, ATN, CTVOlympics.ca, RDSolympiques.ca, and select Rogers radio stations across the country. The Consortium delivered the Top 5 most-watched events in Canadian television history during its revolutionary coverage of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

 

 

SOURCE Canada's Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium

For further information:

Amy Doary, 416.384.2593, amy.doary@bellmedia.ca
Renee Rouse, 416.384.7599, renee.rouse@bellmedia.ca

Profil de l'entreprise

Canada's Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium

Renseignements sur cet organisme


FORFAITS PERSONNALISÉS

Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .

ADHÉSION À CNW

Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.

RENSEIGNEZ-VOUS SUR LES SERVICES DE CNW

Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.