Warner Bros.' The Dark Knight Rises Generates Opening Weekend Box Office Results Of $23.8 Million In IMAX® Theatres Worldwide

Film Grosses $19 Million in IMAX Theatres Domestically

LOS ANGELES, July 23, 2012 /CNW/ - IMAX Corporation (NYSE: IMAX; TSX:IMX) and Warner Bros. Pictures today announced that The Dark Knight Rises (Rated PG-13) has generated approximately $23.8 million in 396 IMAX® theatres worldwide, resulting in a global IMAX per-screen average of approximately $60,100.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20111107/MM01969LOGO )

Domestically, the film grossed $160.887 million, of which approximately $19 million was generated in 332 IMAX® theaters for an IMAX per-screen average of $57,200.

Internationally, the film earned approximately $4.8 million in 64 IMAX theatres for an IMAX per-screen average of more than $75,000, with an additional 89 IMAX theatres set to begin opening this week. This figure excludes China, which is pending confirmation.

For additional information please contact:

Business Media:

IMAX Corporation – New York

Ann Sommerlath

212-821-0155

asommerlath@imax.com

Sloane & Company – New York

Whit Clay

212-446-1864

wclay@sloanepr.com

Investors:

IMAX Corporation – New York

Heather Anthony

212-821-0121

hanthony@imax.com

Entertainment Media:

IMAX Corporation – Los Angeles

Christine Tasto

310-255-5547

ctasto@imax.com

Principal Communications GroupLos Angeles

Melissa Zuckerman/Paul Pflug

323-658-1555

melissa@pcommgroup.com

paul@pcommgroup.com

SOURCE: IMAX Corporation

For further information:

http://www.imax.com

http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20111107/MM01969LOGO

PRN Photo Desk, photodesk@prnewswire.com

Organization Profile

IMAX Corporation

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890