Vale Steelworker Local Unions Join Forces to Develop Bargaining Strategies

TORONTO, Oct. 7, 2016 /CNW/ - Leaders from the United Steelworkers (USW) representing workers at Vale Inc. mines across Canada met over two days this week to develop joint strategies for collective bargaining, improving ongoing health and safety, and building global solidarity.

The meeting in Toronto pulled together USW leadership from across Canada, in advance of a new round of bargaining planned over the next few years. USW Locals 2020 (Sudbury), 6166 (Thompson), 6200 (Port Colborne), 6500 (Sudbury) and 9508 (Voisey's Bay) joined District 6 Director Marty Warren and District 3 Director Stephen Hunt to develop a plan of solidarity for all USW Locals in the Vale chain.

While Local Unions respect one another's autonomy, Vale is a global employer and the United Steelworkers understands that our strength on behalf of our members grows when we work together. The Local Unions already share strategies in health and safety and will be working towards expanding into all areas.

At site after site, all USW leaders and members will work together to ensure that wages, benefits and working conditions continue to be enhanced and protected. Standing united is how we developed decent family-supporting wages and how we will maintain that progress. The Local Unions are committed to developing a shared collective bargaining strategy with support and resources from USW District and National Offices.

The Steelworkers also noted they will continue to build global alliances through organizations like IndustriALL and ongoing outreach to unions around the world that represent workers at Vale. All miners must continue to work together in an effort to improve working conditions around the globe. Our members know that solidarity is a powerful tool, regardless of geography.

 

SOURCE United Steelworkers (USW)

For further information: Marty Warren, USW District 6 Director, mwarren@usw.ca, 416-243-8792; Stephen Hunt, USW District 3 Director, shunt@usw.ca, 604-816-2554; Rick Bertrand, USW Local 6500 President, rbertrand@uswsudbury.ca, 705-521-3412; Darren Cove, USW Local 9508 President, dmcove@hotmail.com, 709-897-7158; Les Ellsworth, USW Local 6166 President, lellsworth@uswlu6166.mb.ca 204-679-0071; Dan Serre, USW Local 2020 President, Serredaniel1@gmail.com, 705-690-2767; Sean Sparkes, USW Local 6200 President, ssparkes2@cogeco.ca, 905-289-6833; Bob Gallagher, USW Communications, bgallagher@usw.ca, 416-434-2221

RELATED LINKS
http://www.usw.ca

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890