March Events! New Heather's Picks, Plus Great March Break Activities at Indigo and Chapters Stores from Coast-to-coast

MARCH EVENTS AT INDIGO BOOKS & MUSIC

TORONTO, Feb. 26, 2015 /CNW/ - From bestselling authors to the most anticipated winter releases, Indigo and Chapters stores across Canada are thrilled to announce the following FREE and exclusive events in March.

INDIGO EXCLUSIVE: BEST BUDDIES READ ALL ABOUT IT DAY
Select Chapters and Indigo locations will be hosting a Best Buddies Day for a 7th year! Best Buddies – Vrais Copains Canada is a national charitable organization dedicated to enhancing our communities through one-to-one friendships between individuals with intellectual disabilities and students. Best Buddies is grounded in the belief that friendship is important to the development of all individuals and that for all individuals with intellectual disabilities friendship is a medium through which they can become a part of their communities.

For more information or to sign-up for Best Buddies events, visit www.bestbuddies.ca.

INDIGOKIDS PRESENTS: MARCH BREAK
Join us for FREE March Break Activities Monday to Friday at 11:00 a.m. Visit our March Break Headquarters for event details and a list of participating stores and dates. Contact your local store to sign up to participate!

AMERICAN GIRL® SPECIALTY BOUTIQUE PRESENTS: MARCH ARTS & CRAFTS
Join us in store to celebrate spring with a special American Girl® FREE art and craft activity every Tuesday evening in the month of March!

Contact your local American Girl speciality boutique to sign-up.

Date and Location:
Chapters Robson
788 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia
Every Tuesday in March, 5:00 p.m.7:00 p.m.

Indigo Yorkdale
3401 Dufferin Street, Unit #29, Toronto, Ontario
Every Tuesday in March, 5:00 p.m.7:00 p.m.

Chapters Rideau
47 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario
Every Tuesday in March, 5:00 p.m.7:00 p.m.

IN PERSON WITH DAVID USHER
Join David Usher as he signs copies of his new book, Let the Elephants Run. Based on his wildly popular speaking engagements, Let the Elephants Run shows us how to reignite creativity whether in the corporate office, the home office or the artist's studio.

Event Guidelines:

  • Space is limited and will be available on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • He will personalize ONE (1) book per customer and autograph any additional books.
  • NO memorabilia or additional items will be permitted for the signing including posters, clothing, CDs or any other item. Book signing only.
  • No video recording permitted.
  • Posed photography will be permitted with assistance from our staff.

Date and Location:
Indigo Eaton Centre
220 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario
Wednesday, March 4, 7:00 p.m.

IN PERSON WITH NIGEL BARKER
Celebrate with fashion photographer and host of Oxygen's The Face, Nigel Barker, with the book launch of Models of Influence: a beautiful volume, spotlighting 50 of the most influential models from the 1940s to the present day and revealing each woman's indelible place in the pantheons of fashion and pop culture.

Date and Location:
Indigo Bay & Bloor
55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario
Tuesday, March 10, 7:00 p.m.

IN PERSON WITH PAUL MCQUILLAN
Meet Paul McQuillan, author of I Hate Yoga: And Why You'll Hate To Love It Too and special guest, professional hockey player Brandon Prust, as they sign copies of this book that takes you through a maze of dissent and praise-ultimately enabling you to arrive at your own surprising and unlikely conclusion.

Event Guidelines

  • NO memorabilia or additional items will be permitted for the signing including posters, clothing or any other item. Book signing only.
  • Must purchase a copy of book to be in line.

Date and Location:
Indigo Place Montréal Trust
1500, avenue McGill College, Montréal, Quebec
Friday, March 20, 7:00 p.m.

INDIGOREADS: BOOK CLUB
Join the IndigoReads Book Club on the first Thursday of every month to discuss our latest book selection. Click here for a summary of upcoming meeting dates, the books we've selected to discuss and a list of participating store locations across the country.

NEW HEATHER'S PICKS AND INDIGO SPOTLIGHT

Indigo CEO and Chief Booklover, Heather Reisman, is announcing two new Heather's Picks in March: Radical by Maajid Nawaz and The Brain's Way of Healing by Norman Doidge.

Timely. Essential. Radical is Maajid Nawaz's intensely personal account of his early life as an Islamist extremist, his imprisonment, and then, since his release, his inspiring work against violence.

InThe Brain's Way of Healing, Norman Doidge, the bestselling author of The Brain That Changes Itself, presents astounding advances in the treatment of brain injury and illness. His revolutionary new book shows, for the first time, how the amazing process of neuroplastic healing really works. As he did so lucidly in The Brain That Changes Itself, Doidge uses stories to present cutting-edge science with practical real-world applications, and principles that everyone can apply to improve their brain's performance and health.

The Indigo Spotlight program introduces readers to a new standout title every month selected and curated by our expert book buyers. We're pleased to announce that March's Spotlight title is Wolf Winter by Cecelia Ekbäck.

A must-read for fans of Steigg Larsson and Lars Kepler, Wolf Winter tells the story of a gruesome murder that threatens to tear apart an isolated community during the coldest of winters. In this atmospheric tour de force – a first novel for Ekbäck – a mother must unearth the truth before fear and secrets suffocate her family.  

#WorldsBiggestBookClub!

Take part in Indigo's monthly Twitter party that brings book lovers together to discuss great reads in 140 characters or less. This month's #WorldsBiggestBookClub title is I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.

Join an online discussion on Wednesday, March 25 at 7 P.M. EST. Follow @chaptersindigo and use #WorldsBiggestBookClub to take part in the online discussion.    

SOURCE Indigo Books & Music Inc.

For further information: For media requests, information and images please contact: Sarah Feldman, Coordinator, Public Relations. 416-364-4499 x 8569, sfeldman@indigo.ca

RELATED LINKS
http://www.indigo.ca

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890