L'Oréal Canada and the Canadian Commission for UNESCO honour four Canadian women emeritus researchers through the For Women and Science Program

MONTREAL, Nov. 23, 2012 /CNW Telbec/ - On November 22, distinguished women researchers were honoured and rewarded by L'Oréal Canada and the Canadian Commission for UNESCO as part of the L'Oréal Canada For Women and Science Program with the support of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO awards ceremony which took place the Embassy of France in Ottawa.

Hosted by scientific journalist Véronique Morin, who has been active for over 20 years on television, radio and in print media, the event welcomed numerous partners and dignitaries as well as several past laureates.

"The L'Oréal Canada For Women and Science Program with the support of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO highlights the exceptional work of Canadian women emeritus researchers who are passionate about their research and encourages them to continue pushing the boundaries in their field. This year, we are celebrating the Canadian program's 10th anniversary and it is our hope that more of us will be offering women scientists the recognition they deserve in the near future," explained Mr. Javier San Juan, President and CEO of L'Oréal Canada.

Created in 1998 by L'Oréal and UNESCO, For Women and Science is one of the most prestigious programs of its kind today. Numerous national programs have been created in over sixty countries, including the L'Oréal Canada For Women and Science Program with the support of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO, in 2003. Since then, four fellowships have been awarded annually to four exceptional Canadian women scientists.

The 2012 laureates
The 2012 recipients of the L'Oréal-UNESCO  Research Excellence Fellowships:

  • Jennifer E. Bruin, PhD, postdoctoral fellow, Department of Cellular and Physiological Sciences, Diabetes Research Group, University of British Columbia (UBC)
  • Célia Jeronimo, PhD, postdoctoral fellow, Chromatin and Genomic Expression Laboratory, Clinical Research Institute of Montreal (IRCM)

These fellowships, worth $20,000 each are designed to support major research projects undertaken by Canadian women working at the postdoctoral level. They were presented to the recipients by Mr. Joshua Leon, Director, Office of the Dean, Faculty of Engineering, and member of the jury for the 2012 L'Oréal-UNESCO Research Excellence Fellowships, and not only reward excellence, but also enable exceptional scientists, as selected by a jury of experts, to pursue their research projects.

The laureates of the 2012 L'Oréal-UNESCO Canadian National Mentoring Fellowships are:

  • Emily Choy, PhD candidate, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Manitoba
  • Grace Murphy, PhD candidate, Department of Biology, Dalhousie University

These fellowships, worth $5,000 each, were presented by Ms. Delphine Senicourt, Scientific Affaires, L'Oréal Canada and member of the jury for the 2012 L'Oréal-UNESCO Canadian National Mentoring Fellowships, to talented young women scientists working at the doctoral level to enable them to continue their work while participating in Actua's National L'Oréal Mentoring Program for Young Girls. Through this program, they act as mentors to young girls by sharing their passion for science during summer camps, workshops, and a variety of other activities.

L'Oréal Canada is a wholly owned subsidiary of L'Oréal Group, the world's leading cosmetics company. L'Oréal Canada, headquartered in Montreal, had sales of more than $900 million in 2011 and employs more than 1,200 people. The company has a diverse portfolio of more than 31 brands encompassing all aspects of beauty. The company's prestigious brand portfolio includes L'Oréal Professionnel, Redken, Kérastase, Matrix, PureOlogy, shu uemura Art of Hair, L'Oréal Paris, Garnier, Maybelline New York, Essie, Ombrelle, Lancôme, Giorgio Armani, Yves Saint-Laurent, Biotherm, Kiehl's, Ralph Lauren, shu uemura, Diesel, Stella McCartney, Viktor & Rolf, Clarisonic, La Roche-Posay, Vichy, SkinCeuticals and Roger & Gallet.

The Canadian Commission for UNESCO acts as a forum for governments and civil society and seeks to mobilize Canadian participation in UNESCO mandated areas: education, natural and social sciences, culture, and communication and information. It operates under the general authority of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Image with caption: "From left to right: Mr. Philippe Zeller, Ambassador of France to Canada, Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Public Works and Government Services and Minister for Status of Women, Ms. Célia Jeronimo and Ms. Jennifer E. Bruin, recipients of the Research Excellence Fellowships, Ms. Emily Choy and Ms. Grace Murphy, recipients of the Canadian National Mentoring Fellowships, Mr. Javier San Juan, President and CEO, L'Oréal Canada. (CNW Group/L'Oréal Canada)". Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20121123_C3002_PHOTO_EN_21104.jpg

SOURCE: L'Oréal Canada

For further information:

For more information about the
L'Oréal Canada For Women and Science Program, or to arrange an interview with one of the laureates, please contact:

Valérie Ladouceur
Project Manager
Massy Forget Langlois Public Relations 
Tel. 514 842-2455, ext. 15

Please address any requests for information about the Canadian Commission for UNESCO to :

Dominique Potvin
Programme Officer, Natural Sciences
Canadian Commission for UNESCO
Tel.: 613 566-4414 or
1 800 263-5588, ext. 5517

Organization Profile

L'Oréal Canada

More on this organization

L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women and Science Program

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890