Jury Announced for the 2013 Lionel Gelber Prize:

TORONTO AND WASHINGTON, Nov. 12, 2012 /CNW/ - Patricia Rubin, Chair of the Lionel Gelber Prize and niece of Lionel Gelber, the Canadian scholar, diplomat, and author in whose memory the prize was created, today announced the 2013 Prize jury, including two of Canada's most distinguished authors and editors, a noted historian of British foreign policy, and two foreign policy experts, one a previous winner of the Lionel Gelber Prize.

"The acclaim of the Prize over the years begins with the formidable task entrusted to the jurors. We welcome with deep gratitude the insight and participation of these five renowned individuals for our 23rd Prize," said Ms Rubin.

The Jurors for the 2013 Lionel Gelber Prize are:

  • William Thorsell, Jury Chair (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

  • Daniel W. Drezner (Medford, Massachusetts, USA)

  • Gaynor Lilian Johnson, Ph. D. (Manchester, UK)

  • Walter Russell Meade (Annandale-on-Hudson, NY, USA)

  • Margaret Wente (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

Click here for juror biographies.

About the Prize:

The Lionel Gelber Prize, a literary award for the world's best non-fiction book in English on foreign affairs that seeks to deepen public debate on significant international issues, was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. A prize of $15,000 is awarded to the winner. The award is presented annually by the Lionel Gelber Foundation, in partnership with Foreign Policy Magazine and the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto. Ezra F. Vogel won the 2012 Lionel Gelber Prize for his book Deng Xiaoping and the Transformation of China published by the Belknap Press of Harvard University Press.

Key 2013 Dates:

The longlist will be announced on February 4th, the shortlist on February 19th, and the winner on March 25th.  The winner will speak at a free public lecture, to be held in the Campbell Conference Facility at the Munk School of Global Affairs on Monday, April 15th in Toronto, Canada.

SOURCE: The Lionel Gelber Prize

For further information:

Media Contact Information:

June Dickenson: +1 (905) 689-0388 | junedickenson@cogeco.ca

Website: http://www.utoronto.ca/munk/gelber  | FacebookTwitter

Organization Profile

The Lionel Gelber Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890