GTHA Conservation Group Members Partner with Sonepar Canada - BlueWay to Help Small Businesses Manage Electricity Costs

AJAX, ON, Jan. 12, 2017 /CNW/ - The Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area ("GTHA") Conservation Group is pleased to announce that a collaborative procurement process has led to the partnerships between Sonepar Canada – BlueWay ("Sonepar") and a number of its Local Distribution Company ("LDC") members for the delivery of the Save on Energy Business Lighting program. The program provides a free onsite lighting assessment for eligible businesses and up to $2,000 in incentives for eligible energy-efficient lighting upgrades.

"We're very pleased with the joint procurement process that led to Veridian's partnership with Sonepar," said Michael Angemeer, President and CEO of Veridian Connections Inc. "We've secured a strong and capable partner to help us cost effectively achieve our electricity conservation goals and to help provide cost savings for our small business customers."

The GTHA Conservation Group was established to help its members pursue joint opportunities to optimize investments in energy conservation. Participating in group initiatives is optional based on individual member needs and local circumstances. Through the group's Small Business Lighting joint procurement initiative, Sonepar will be delivering this program within the service areas of Enersource, Horizon Utilities, Hydro One Brampton Networks Inc., Oakville Hydro, PowerStream, Toronto Hydro, Veridian Connections Inc. and Whitby Hydro.

The joint procurement process was supported by the province's Independent Electricity System Operator ("IESO") through its LDC Collaboration Fund. Terry Young, the IESO's Vice-President of Conservation and Corporate Relations, applauded the GTHA Conservation Group's effort. "The Save on Energy Small Business Lighting program provides another energy-saving opportunity for small businesses across Ontario to help manage their electricity costs and contribute to the achievement of the province's conservation objectives," said Young. "Congratulations to the GTHA Conservation Group on this achievement and for its continued efforts to promote energy efficiency and foster a culture of conservation across Ontario."

About the GTHA Conservation Group
The GTHA Conservation Group is a collaboration of 13 electric and two natural gas LDCs that serve more than 2 million electric customers and 3.5 million natural gas customers in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area and beyond. The Group works cooperatively to identify and secure opportunities for the cost effective delivery of energy conservation programs to the customers of its members. The members of the GTHA Conservation Group are: Brantford Power, Burlington Hydro, Enbridge Gas Distribution, Enersource, Halton Hills Hydro, Horizon Utilities, Hydro One Brampton Networks Inc., Milton Hydro, Oakville Hydro, Oshawa PUC Networks Inc., PowerStream, Toronto Hydro, Union Gas Limited, Veridian Connections Inc. and Whitby Hydro.

About Sonepar Canada – BlueWay:
Sonepar Canada is the country's largest privately-held B-to-B electrical products distributor and supplier of safety and related services. In Canada, we are represented in six provinces by BlueWay, Dixon Electric, Gescan, Lumen, MGM Electric, Sesco, Texcan and Vallen. Sonepar Canada has over 1,800 employees working out of 106 offices between our distinctive brands. Sonepar's mission is to satisfy the needs of its customers through dedicated and professional personnel, and quality products and services which are easily available with reliable deliveries. Sonepar BlueWay was founded in 2009, and has provided energy products and services to utility and corporate clients. Specializing in delivering Direct Install programs to small business customers on behalf of local utility's, Sonepar has completed over 80,000 energy efficiency retrofits across four provinces.

SOURCE GTHA Conservation Group

For further information: GTHA Group Members - Media Contacts: Brantford Power, Susan Tulloch, VP, Customer Service and Conservation, 519-751-3522, ext. 5681, stulloch@brantford.ca; Burlington Hydro, Christine Hallas, Manager, Corporate Communications, 905-332-1851, ext. 355, challas@burlingtonhydro.com; Enbridge Gas Distribution, Tanya Bruckmueller, Manager, Media Relations, 1-855-884-5112, enbridgegasmedia@enbridge.com; Enersource, Steve Scott, Senior Communications Specialist, 905-283-4295, sscott@enersource.com; Halton Hills Hydro, Arthur Skidmore, President and CEO, 519-853-3700, askidmore@haltonhillshydro.com; Horizon Utilities, John Friesen, Manager, External Communications, 905-521-4908, John.Friesen@horizonutilities.com; Hydro One Brampton Networks Inc., Lee Dapp, Communications Specialist, 905-840-6300, ext. 3309, ldapp@hydroonebrampton.com; Milton Hydro, Frank Lasowski, President and CEO, 905-299-2036, lasowskif@miltonhydro.com; Oakville Hydro, Mary Caputi, Vice President, Innovation and Growth, 905-825-6373, mcaputi@oecorp.ca; Oshawa PUC Networks Inc., Janet Taylor, CDM Manager, 905-723-4626, ext. 5249, jtaylor@opuc.on.ca; PowerStream, John Olthuis, Manager, Customer Communications & Marketing, 905-532-4400, john.olthuis@powerstream.ca; Toronto Hydro, Tori Gass, Media Relations Specialist, 416-903-6845, tgass@torontohydro.com; Union Gas Limited, Andrea Stass, Manager, Media Relations, 1-800-571-8446, ext. 5005490, astass@uniongas.com; Veridian Connections Inc., Chris Mace, Corporate Communications Representative, 905-427-9870, ext. 2218, cmace@veridian.on.ca; Whitby Hydro, June Callaghan, Executive Assistant/Corporate Secretary, 905-444-1987, JCallaghan@whitbyhydro.on.ca

Organization Profile

GTHA Conservation Group

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890