Anthony Haines, President and CEO, Toronto Hydro named Energy Council of Canada's 2014 Canadian Energy Person of the Year

OTTAWA, July 14, 2014 /CNW/ - The Energy Council of Canada (ECC) is pleased to announce Anthony Haines, President and Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Hydro Corporation, as the 2014 Canadian Energy Person of the Year.

The Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award was first presented in 2001 to recognize and pay tribute to a Canadian energy leader who has made a significant impact at the national and international levels with the energy sector.

Mr. Haines was nominated by the City of Toronto's City Manager, Joseph Pennachetti, in recognition of Mr. Haines' fundamental leadership of the city's electricity utility, which delivers electricity to approximately 733,000 customers located in the City of Toronto. 

Nominations for the Canadian Energy Person of the Year award are based upon the nominee's remarkable accomplishments in the business or government sector and in the community at large.

Mr. Haines is being acknowledged for his dynamic vision regarding long-term priorities, to ensure Toronto Hydro, along with other provincial electricity suppliers, is able to meet the reliability needs of future demand, as well as delivering cost-effective programs for residential and small business customers and the development of energy supply from renewable and other low-carbon sources. Mr. Haines leadership during the 2013 ice storm was demonstrated by his success in delivering transparent and effective communication throughout the crisis.  In making this award, the ECC is also pleased to acknowledge the outstanding efforts and contributions of the men and women at local utilities who provide reliable power day in and day out.

As the Canadian Energy Person of the Year, Mr. Haines will serve as an ambassador of Canada's energy sector, demonstrating a clear vision and commitment to fostering the sustainable use and development of energy for the benefit of all.

A foremost characteristic for the nominee is their strong sense of social responsibility and belief in giving back to the community. Their focus upon environmental and social issues, and economic development should be evident. Their forward thinking and innovative spirit see these leaders promote the Canadian energy sector and Canada's role in the world energy market.

The award will be presented at the 2014 Canadian Energy Person of the Year Celebration event being planned for the fall 2014 in Toronto.

Click HERE to learn more about award past recipients.


The Energy Council of Canada is the Canadian Member Committee of the World Energy Council. With over 75 members from Canada's energy sector, we are a non-profit organization dedicated to forging a better understanding of energy issues in order to optimally shape the energy sector for the benefit of all Canadians.


SOURCE: Energy Council of Canada

For further information: Krystal Underhill, Energy Council of Canada, t: (613) 232-8239, x 603, c: (613) 613-866-0583,


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890