Who Will Be Canada's Next Radio Star? You Decide!

                 Astral Media & Canadian Music Week Announce
                   The Finalists For Canadian Radio Star:
               The 16th Annual National Songwriting Competition
                       Voting Opens February 19, 2009

                Performances by hosts Andy Kim and Tomi Swick
       Library Bar, Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Friday, March 13, 2009

    TORONTO, Feb. 19 /CNW/ - Finalists for Canadian Radio Star - the 16th
annual national songwriting competition - are announced. Supported by Astral
Media and Canadian Music Week, the event continues to discover potential stars
at the regional, grassroots level and to showcase them to the music industry
and general public alike.
    The finalists will perform at the Canadian Radio Star showcase,
performances by hosts Andy Kim and Tomi Swick, at Library Bar, Fairmont Royal
York Hotel, Friday, March 13, 2009. Presented by the Songwriters Association
of Canada (SAC), this showcase allows the finalists to perform their winning
songs to a live audience.

    The regional finalists:

    STATION                    WINNER                  SONG TITLE
    CKZZ-FM               The Latency                  "Tonight, I Love You"
    CFBR-FM           My Sister Ocean                       "IndoctriNation"
    CJAY-FM                  Zoo Lion                                  "Pry"
    CJDJ-FM             John Antoniuk                            "Out There"
    CIZL-FM           Jeffery Straker                            "Flatlines"
    CKMM-FM         Taylor Demetrioff  "Now Boarding Flight 586 to Winnipeg"
    CKFM-FM                 Tigerbomb                     "Nothing To Prove"
                       (Patrick Cooke
                       /Jay McGroarty)
    CKQB-FM          Watters Brothers                        "Life Is A Gas"
    CJFM-FM                Seven Days                           "Angel Lies"
    CJYC-FM       Stephanie Mainville                                 "Wait"
    CFRQ-FM             Andrew Hunter                   "The Feel Good Song"
    VOCM-FM              The Insiders                        "This Time Now"
                         (Jeff Martin
                         /Tino Borges)

    Regional finalists were picked by participating radio stations and public
on-line voting based on the creativity, originality, composition, lyrics,
melody and radio airplay potential of their songs.
    The public is encouraged to vote for their favourite songwriter at
www.radiostar.ca. Voting opens Thursday, February 19th and closes Thursday,
March 12th, midnight. Popular vote combined with the decisions by a panel of
judges chosen by SAC will determine the grand prize winner, who will be
announced on Friday, March 13th at the finale of the Canadian Radio Star
    The showcase is 19+, all Canadian Music Fest wristbands and Canadian
Music Week passes accepted and free to attend. Entry is subject to capacity.
    Canadian Music Fest wristbands can be purchased at
www.canadianmusicfest.com or 905.858.4747.

For further information:

For further information: Planet3 Communications Ltd., T: (416) 922-4459,
E: info@planet3com.net

Organization Profile

Canadian Music Week

More on this organization

Astral Media Inc.

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890