Who Says History has to be Boring? 25 Teachers, Cited for Creativity in the Classroom

    Who...was the first Canadian to invent compost toilets and tape

    What...was the name of the Canadian chicken that laid 358 eggs in
    365 days?

    Where...was the first lighthouse in Canada built?

    WINNIPEG, Sept. 17 /CNW/ - Canada's National History Society today
announced the 25 finalists for the 2007 Governor General's Awards for
Excellence in Teaching Canadian History. The highlights from the finalists'
lesson plans include a boot camp for World War I training, an archaeological
dig to unearth aboriginal artifacts, and a mock trial of William Lyon
Mackenzie. Now in its 12th year, the award honours teachers who excel at
bringing history to life for their students.
    Deborah Morrison, president and CEO of the History Society says, "These
are the types of teachers we all wish we had when we were in school. So our
goal is to inspire more teachers by creating opportunities for others to
benefit from their expertise and techniques." Morrison adds, "We all win if
the next generation of Canadians has a better understanding and a greater
interest in our past because they had a great history teacher."

                           The 2007 Finalists are:

                   Louise Busseau - Rivière-du-Loup, Québec
      Emmanuelle Coache, Ariane Larocque & Anne Gagné - Lacolle, Québec
    Toby Daigle & Gale Walker - Rexton, New Brunswick & Winnipeg, Manitoba
                       Brad Dowler - Winnipeg, Manitoba
                  Rhonda Draper - Kelowna, British Columbia
             Sherri Duggan & Thelma Gregan - Berwick, Nova Scotia
                 Joanne Espinel - Invermere, British Columbia
               France Gendron - Ste-Brigitte-des-Saults, Quebec
                       Susan Haynes - Toronto, Ontario
                Peter Katsionis - Vancouver, British Columbia
               James Kostuchuk - Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
           Lycia Kougemitros & Jennifer Miyauchi - Markham, Ontario
                      John MacPhail - Oakville, Ontario
                   Monique Martin - Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
                    Kevin McRae - Iroquois Falls, Ontario
                     Rose Fine-Meyer - Toronto, Ontario
                  Ann Owens & Paul Walsh - Montreal, Quebec
                  Lisa Pagliacci - Surrey, British Columbia
                      Andrew Rychel - Oakville, Ontario
                   Gilbert Salmon - Thetford Mines, Quebec
                   Nancy Hamer-Strahl - Port Perry, Ontario
             Cathleen Anne Tenning - Victoria, British Columbia
       Linda & George Urban - Jean Marie River, Northwest Territories
                       David Watkins - Toronto, Ontario
                    Sarah Wood - New Glasgow, Nova Scotia

       More detailed biographical information and photos of each of the
     finalists are available for download through the press room of the
                         History Society's website:


    A committee of judges will next select recipients out of twenty-five
finalists. Those six recipients will be awarded $2,500, a gold medal and a
trip for two to the Awards ceremony in Ottawa at Rideau Hall on
Friday, November 2, 2007. Their respective schools will also receive a
$1,000 cash award.
    If selected, the Award finalists will also be treated to a private
luncheon with Her Excellency, The Right Honourable Michaelle Jean, and be the
guests of the Speaker in the House of Commons on Parliament Hill. Another
highlight of the Award festivities is the gala dinner, and a rare insiders'
tour of the Library and Archives Canada Preservation Centre, one of the
program partners. The memorable experience and Awards prizes are also made
possible through the generous support of TD Bank Financial Group.

    Canada's National History Society is a Winnipeg-based charitable
organization devoted to popularizing Canadian history. In addition to
publishing The Beaver magazine, and Kayak: Canada's History Magazine for Kids,
the Society also operates two distinctive award programs: the Pierre Berton
Award for popularizing Canadian history, and the Governor General's Awards for
Excellence in Teaching Canadian History, which honours innovative classroom

For further information:

For further information: or to arrange an interview with teachers,
please contact: Nicole Harris, Maverick Media Solutions, Tel: (204) 470-4555,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890