Webster Foundation names Steve Wyatt 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient

    VANCOUVER, Sept. 4 /CNW/ - The Jack Webster Foundation has chosen a
veteran journalist, producer and senior news executive to receive the 2008
Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award.
    Global TV's Steve Wyatt will receive the award November 6th at the 22nd
Annual Jack Webster Awards Dinner recognizing outstanding British Columbia
    In announcing Wyatt as this year's Hutchison Award winner, Jack Webster
Foundation Co-Chair Debora Sweeney said he brings a lifelong dedication to
television news in British Columbia and across Canada.
    Most recently Senior Vice-President, News and Information for Canwest
Broadcasting, Wyatt began his career in 1978 as a general assignment reporter
at BCTV, later working for CTV, CBC and CKVU. A graduate of the University of
Western Ontario with a Masters in Journalism, Wyatt produced and reported for
WEBSTER! and was instrumental in expanding BCTV's evening news programming to
two full hours in 1994 with the introduction of Canada Tonight to B.C.
audiences. Wyatt served as News Director and later as General Manager,
BC Operations for Global Television. As Senior Vice-President for Canwest
broadcasting, Wyatt led a major rescheduling of local and national news
programming on the Global Television network and launched a major expansion of
the award-winning Global National in 2003.
    "Steve Wyatt is a mentor and a role model who is regarded with the utmost
respect by his colleagues in the industry." said Sweeney. "Canadian journalism
has benefited from his skill and accomplishments."
    "It's been nearly 30 years since my "baptism by fire" under the tutelage
of the one and only Jack Webster first as a reporter and then as producer. So
it is particularly humbling for me to be honoured by the Webster Foundation
and to receive the Bruce Hutchison Award. I am deeply grateful to all the
journalists across the country it has been my privilege to work with and who
have made this journey possible," Wyatt said.
    Previous winners of the Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award, the
foundation's most prestigious, include: Jim Harrison, Vaughn Palmer, Vicki
Gabereau, Tony Parsons, Rafe Mair, Allan Fotheringham, Patrick Nagle, Roy
Peterson, Cameron Bell, Keith Bradbury, Dan McLeod, Denny Boyd, George
Garrett, Moira Farrow, Jim Hume, Warren Barker, Len Norris and Bruce
Hutchison, a B.C.-based journalist with a national reputation that spanned six

    The Jack Webster Foundation, named after the late broadcaster who was
Western Canada's best known and most influential reporter, was established in
1986 to recognize excellence in British Columbia journalism. The Jack Webster
Awards Dinner will be held on November 6th at the Westin Bayshore. Tickets are
$145.00 per person and may be reserved by emailing tickets@jackwebster.com or
by calling 604-261-6184. The work of the Foundation is made possible by the
generous sponsorship of the Accenture, British Columbia Lottery Corporation,
Bell Canada, CGA Association, CN, HSBC Bank Canada, Labatt Breweries, Terasen
Gas, Vancouver International Airport Authority, Port Metro Vancouver and
Worksafe BC.

For further information:

For further information: Jack Webster Foundation, Nora Newlands,
Executive Director at (604) 261-3348, info@jackwebster.com,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890