Webster Foundation names Jim Harrison 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient

    VANCOUVER, Aug. 23 /CNW/ - Veteran radio journalist Jim Harrison, News
Director of CHNL Radio in Kamloops, has been named the 2007 Bruce Hutchison
Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. Harrison will receive the award at the
21st Annual Jack Webster Awards Dinner recognizing outstanding British
Columbia journalism on Oct. 22 in Vancouver.
    In announcing Harrison as this year's Hutchison Award winner, Jack
Webster Foundation Co-Chair Debora Sweeney said that in Harrison's selection,
the Jack Webster Foundation Board has carried on the tradition of recognizing
outstanding British Columbia journalists who have contributed to their
community, their province and their craft.
    Harrison joined CHNL Radio in 1973 as a reporter and became News Director
in 1975. He is a rare breed amongst regional journalists, Sweeney said. "He
has consistently broken provincial and national stories, extending his
influence far beyond his home base of Kamloops."
    In addition to his reporting duties, Harrison has also researched,
written and broadcast an editorial comment nearly every day since 1975, for an
astounding record of 8,000 commentaries on issues of the day.
    "To say this was a surprise would be an understatement. Peer recognition
is a reward in itself, but to be considered for an award that has gone to some
of the best in BC journalism is a tremendous honour," Harrison said.
    Retired CKNW reporter and Jack Webster Foundation Trustee George Garrett,
a Hutchison recipient himself, said of Harrison, "He has had and continues to
have the trust and respect of politicians of all parties; of labour and
business leaders and activists from across the spectrum. Jim is a newsman's
    Previous winners of the Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award, the
foundation's most prestigious, include: Vaughn Palmer, Vicki Gabereau, Tony
Parsons, Rafe Mair, Allan Fotheringham, Patrick Nagle, Roy Peterson, Cameron
Bell, Keith Bradbury, Dan McLeod, Denny Boyd, George Garrett, Moira Farrow,
Jim Hume, Warren Barker, Len Norris and Bruce Hutchison, a B.C.-based
journalist with a national reputation that spanned six decades.

    The Jack Webster Foundation, named after the late broadcaster who was
Western Canada's best known and most influential reporter, was established in
1986 to recognize excellence in British Columbia journalism. The Jack Webster
Awards Dinner will be held on Monday, Oct. 22 at the Vancouver Convention and
Exhibition Centre. Tickets are $135.00 per person and may be reserved by
emailing tickets@jackwebster.com or by calling 604-261-6184. The work of the
Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of the Accenture,
British Columbia Lottery Corporation, Bell Canada, CGA Association, CN, HSBC
Bank Canada, Labatt Breweries, Terasen Gas, Vancouver International Airport
Authority, Vancouver Port Authority and Worksafe BC.

For further information:

For further information: Jack Webster Foundation, George Garrett,
Trustee at (604) 961-1660, or Nora Newlands, Executive Director at (604)
261-3348, info@jackwebster.com, www.jackwebster.com

Organization Profile

Jack Webster Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890