Webster Foundation names Bill Good 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient

    VANCOUVER, Sept. 1 /CNW/ - The Jack Webster Foundation today announced
that veteran BC broadcaster Bill Good will receive the 2009 Bruce Hutchison
Lifetime Achievement Award October 20th at the 23rd Annual Jack Webster Awards
    In announcing this year's Hutchison Award winner, Jack Webster Foundation
Co-Chairs Neil Soper and Debora Sweeney paid tribute to Good's longstanding
leadership in radio and television broadcasting in British Columbia, where he
does daily double duty as host of CKNWs Bill Good Show and co-anchor of the
CTV News at Six.
    "Bill Good's contribution to excellence in journalism is enormous," Soper
said. "From the listeners and viewers to whom he is a trusted voice and face,
to the newsmakers to whom he is a fair-minded questioner and to his colleagues
who consider him one of the best, Bill Good is well deserving of this
prestigious award."
    Good began his journalism career in sports. He covered the 1972 and 1976
Olympics for the CBC and, for a decade, Hockey Night in Canada.
    In 1978, he moved to the news anchor position at CBC Evening News. In
1988, he began hosting a daily talk show at CKNW AM that continues today to
bring important news issues and personalities to listeners across the
province. Good became anchor of the BCTV 5:30 newscast in 1989. He moved to
CTV in 2001, where he continues to co-anchor the evening newscast.
    "Having personally known and learned from so much from Jack Webster, and
as a longtime admirer of Bruce Hutchison's journalism, this honour touches me
deeply," said Good, who has also received a Jack Webster Award, BC Broadcaster
of the Year Award and an ACTRA award.
    The Jack Webster Foundation, named after the late broadcaster who was
Western Canada's best known and most influential reporter, was established in
1986 to recognize excellence in British Columbia journalism. The lifetime
award is named for the late Bruce Hutchison, a B.C.-based journalist with a
national reputation that spanned six decades.
    Previous winners of the Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award, the
foundation's most prestigious, include: Steve Wyatt, Jim Harrison, Vaughn
Palmer, Vicki Gabereau, Tony Parsons, Rafe Mair, Allan Fotheringham, Patrick
Nagle, Roy Peterson, Cameron Bell, Keith Bradbury, Dan McLeod, Denny Boyd,
George Garrett, Moira Farrow, Jim Hume, Warren Barker, Len Norris, and
Hutchison himself. The Jack Webster Awards Dinner will be held on OCTOBER 20th
at the Westin Bayshore. Tickets are $150 per person and may be reserved by
emailing tickets@jackwebster.com or by calling 604-261-6184.
    The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship
of BCLC, Bell, CGA Association, CN, HSBC Bank Canada, Labatt Breweries,
Terasen Gas, Port Metro Vancouver and WorkSafe BC.

For further information:

For further information: Jack Webster Foundation, Nora Newlands,
Executive Director at (604) 261-3348, info@jackwebster.com,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890