TVO announces 38 nominees for Big Ideas' Best Lecturer Competition 3

    TORONTO, Jan. 7 /CNW/ - Nominations came in from colleges and
universities across the province, and TVO has now selected 38 semifinalists to
compete for the title of Ontario's Best Lecturer in the 2008 Big Ideas Best
Lecturer Competition sponsored by TD Meloche Monnex.
    Big Ideas is TVO's televised lecture series. The Best Lecturer
Competition, now in its third year, galvanizes the post-secondary community
and plays an important role in raising awareness about the province's great
    New schools who have professors in the running this year include Lakehead
University, Loyalist College, Nipissing University, the Ontario Institute for
Studies in Education of the University of Toronto (OISE), Redeemer University
College, the University of Waterloo and Wilfrid Laurier University. The
teaching specialties of the nominees range from abnormal psychology, forensic
anthropology and evolutionary ecology to culinary arts, medieval literature
and intellectual capital.
    A panel of independent judges will review video submissions of lectures
and produce a shortlist of 10 finalists. The judges - former teacher, school
principal and politician Zanana Akande; author, poet and award-winning
journalist Barry Callaghan; and actor/writer/producer Tony Nardi - will look
for lecturers who engage their listeners with passion, flair and clarity,
conveying their knowledge with genuine conviction.
    The ten finalists will deliver complete lectures on Big Ideas over five
weeks beginning March 1, 2008. Then, it's over to the viewers to vote and
ultimately decide who will be Ontario's next Best Lecturer. The winner's
institution will receive a $10,000 TD Meloche Monnex scholarship.
    A complete list of the 38 semifinalists follows below. For more
information, including contestant bios, videoclips of lectures, student quotes
and full contest details, please visit

    38 semifinalists - 2008 Big Ideas Best Lecturer Competition
    (Listed alphabetically by school. (*)indicates nomination in last year's

    Brock University
    Tim Conley, Department of English
    John Mitterer, Department of Psychology

    Lakehead University
    Syed Serajul Islam, Department of Political Science

    Laurentian University
    Jacqueline Litzgus, Department of Biology

    Loyalist College
    John Schneeberger, Culinary Management

    McMaster University
    Nick Bontis, Faculty of Business/Department of Marketing - DeGroote
    School of Business

    Nipissing University
    Glynn Sharpe, Faculty of Education

    Redeemer University College
    Timothy Epp, Department of Sociology

    Ryerson University
    Oren Amitay, Department of Psychology

    University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT)
    Christopher diCarlo(*), Faculty of Social and Health Sciences

    University of Toronto  - St. George
    Robert J. Brym, Department of Sociology
    Claudio Colaguori, Department of Sociology
    Andrew Lesk, Department of English
    Karen Mundy, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
    Jordan Peterson(*), Department of Psychology
    Doug Richards(*), Faculty of Physical Education and Health

    University of Toronto - Mississauga
    James Appleyard, Department of Management
    Alexandra Gillespie(*), Department of English & Drama
    Tracy Rogers, Department of Anthropology
    Shafique Virani, Department of Historical Studies

    University of Toronto - Scarborough
    Daniel Bender, Department of Humanities
    Gerald Cupchik(*), Department of Psychology
    Joan Forder, Department of Biological Sciences
    Marc A. Fournier(*), Department of Psychology
    Raymond Grinnell(*), Department of Mathematics
    Mark Schmuckler, Department of Psychology

    University of Waterloo
    Robert Jan van Pelt, School of Architecture

    University of Western Ontario
    Susanne Hammond, Department of Music
    Ken Kirkwood(*), Department of Health Sciences
    Stephen Pitel, Faculty of Law

    University of Windsor
    Finney Cherian(*), Faculty of Education
    Ken Cramer, Department of Psychology
    Thomas McNorton, Faculty of Education

    Wilfrid Laurier University
    Michel Desjardins, Department of Religion and Culture
    Penelope Ironstone-Catterall, Communications Studies
    Shirley Lichti, School of Business and Economics
    Lorne Sulsky, School of Business and Economics

    York University
    Anders Sandberg, Faculty of Environmental Studies

    About TVO

    TVO is Ontario's public educational media organization and a trusted
source of interactive educational content that informs, inspires, and
stimulates curiosity and thought. We are committed to empowering people to be
engaged citizens of Ontario through educational media.

    About TD Meloche Monnex

    TD Meloche Monnex is proud to be the presenting sponsor for the third
edition of TVO's Big Ideas Best Lecturer Competition. For over 55 years, TD
Meloche Monnex has been a dedicated supporter of Ontario university alumni,
providing high-quality home and auto insurance to its members.

For further information:

For further information: Angela Garde, (416) 484-2600, ext. 2305,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890