True Sport Foundation Announces Finalists For the 36th Canadian Sport Awards

    OTTAWA, Feb. 2 /CNW Telbec/ - The True Sport Foundation (TSF) today
announced the finalists for the 36th Canadian Sport Awards (CSA), the ultimate
recognition event for excellence in Canadian sport. The annual awards program
promotes sporting excellence across Canada, and reminds Canadians how sport
lifts the human spirit. It is a tribute to the hard work, the dedication and
the victories of our country's finest athletes.
    "The response to this year's call for nominations was excellent," says
Victor Lachance, Executive Director of the True Sport Foundation. "We are
thrilled with the enthusiasm and support shown by Canada's sporting community.
This is particularly exciting in the lead up to the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and
Paralympic Games."
    The Canadian Sport Awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday, February
24, 2009 at Ottawa's National Gallery of Canada. This who's who of the
sporting world is the year's best opportunity to honour our amateur athletes.
    A limited number of tickets to the awards ceremony/dinner are available
for $120 each through Program Director Robin Turnbull at
Passes will be available for accredited media.
    Following the awards ceremony, on Wednesday, February 25, Canadian Sport
Award nominees and recipients will visit two Ottawa schools where these role
models will engage with students, sharing success stories and challenges and
advancing the benefits of values-driven sport in Canada.
    The sport community was invited to nominate athletes and persons for
Junior Athlete of the Year, Corporate Excellence Award, Leadership in Sport
Award, Volunteer Achievement Award and the popular Spirit of Sport Story of
the Year. The TSF will rank the three finalists in the Athlete Performance
Awards from the top eight results published by Sport Canada.

    CSA 2008 Finalists

    The Athletic Performance Awards recognize outstanding athletic
    performance. Finalists include:

    Male Athlete of the Year

    Jeffrey Buttle - Figure Skating
    Eric Lamaze - Equestrian
    Adam Van Koeverden - Canoeing

    Female Athlete of the Year

    Kristina Groves - Speed Skating
    Carol Huynh - Wrestling
    Chantal Petitclerc - Athletics

    Junior Athlete of the Year

    Alex Harvey - Cross Country
    Sarah Reid - Skeleton
    Matthew Swanston - Swimming

    Team of the Year

    Curling: Men's World Championship (K. Martin)
    Curling: Women's World Championship (J. Jones)
    Wheelchair Basketball: Paralympics (P. Anderson)

    Partners of the Year

    Rowing: Beijing Olympics Gold Medal: M Eights (M8+)
    Rowing: Beijing Olympics Silver Medal: M Pairs (M2-)
    Figure Skating: World Championship: Ice Dance
    (T.Virtue, S.Moir)

    The Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate an individual's outstanding
    contribution to the betterment of sport. Finalists include:

    Leadership in Sport Award

    Chantal Petitclerc
    Jane Roos
    Kevin Sullivan

    Volunteer Achievement

    Philip Clark
    Alain Maillé
    Larry Smith

    The Corporate Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates a corporation
    who provides outstanding support to Canadian sport. Finalists include:
    Forzani Group

    The Spirit of Sport Story of the Year category recognizes and celebrates
    Canadian heroes who, in the pursuit of sporting excellence, have
    demonstrated values such as fairness, inclusion, perseverance,
    sportsmanship, respect for others, and a true love of sport. Finalists
    Blythe Hartley
    Men's Eight (M8+)
    Kyle Shewfelt

    Nomination Eligibility

    Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for
the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also
self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from
January 1, 2008 through to December 31, 2008.
    The CSA brings together leaders from the sporting and corporate
communities who represent the pinnacle of commitment and competition: Canadian
amateur athletes, coaches, sport leaders and volunteers. The annual event
promotes sporting excellence across Canada, and reminds Canadians how sport
lifts the human spirit.

    About the True Sport Foundation

    The True Sport Foundation is a charitable organization committed to
ensuring that sport makes a positive contribution to Canadian society. Managed
by the Foundation, the Canadian Sport Awards boasts a strong relationship with
its modern day founding partners, which include Athletes CAN, the Commonwealth
Games Association of Canada, the Canada Games and the Canadian Centre for
Ethics in Sport. For more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please
    For complete nomination rules and guidelines, and more information about
the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit

For further information:

For further information: Robin Turnbull, Canadian Sport Awards, Program
Director, (416) 604-0310,; Victor Lachance, Executive
Director, True Sport Foundation, (613) 255-3372,

Organization Profile

True Sport Foundation

More on this organization

Canadian Sport Awards

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890