True Sport Foundation Announces Finalists For the 35th Canadian Sport Awards

    Recognizing Excellence in Sport in 2007

    OTTAWA, Feb. 7 /CNW/ - The True Sport Foundation (TSF) today announced
the finalists for the 35th Canadian Sport Awards (CSA), the ultimate
recognition event for excellence in Canadian sport. The annual awards program
honours the true champions of sport: athletes, coaches, volunteers, leaders,
inspired youth, and more.
    "This year's nominations feature an amazing wealth of talent and
commitment," says Victor Lachance, Executive Director of the True Sport
Foundation. "Congratulations to all of those who received a nomination. It is
a tribute to the hard work, the dedication and the victories of our country's
finest athletes."
    Following on the success of last year's partnership with Sport Manitoba,
the 35th Canadian Sport Awards will take place again in Winnipeg and will
include a joint awards presentation with Sport Manitoba in recognizing
provincial and national athletes. The awards are scheduled for March 19, 2008
at the Garrick Theatre.
    This 35-year-old tradition will also include a new community outreach
effort designed to engage school children in sport. The True Sport Road Trip
is scheduled for March 20th, the day following the Canadian Sport Awards. For
this first-time event, attending athletes will visit three inner city schools
to examine issues and challenges specific to each school. Athletes will read,
play and inform the kids with the goal of demonstrating how sport can lift the
human spirit.
    "Sport Manitoba is once again pleased to showcase Manitoba's best on the
national stage with the country's outstanding athletes, coaches, volunteers
and sport leaders." said Jeff Hnatiuk, Sport Manitoba President and CEO. "We
are also excited with this year's new initiative that will enable elementary,
middle school and secondary students to meet some of the role models who have
distinguished themselves through their participation in sport."
    The sport community was invited to nominate athletes and persons for the
Leadership Awards, Corporate Excellence Award, Investors Group Spirit of Sport
Award and the True Sport Community Award. The TSF will rank the three
finalists in the Athlete Performance Awards from the top eight results
published by Sport Canada.

    CSA 2007 Finalists
    The Athletic Performance Awards recognize outstanding athletic
performance. Finalists include:

    Male Athlete of the Year

    Brent Hayden, swimming
    Gary Reed, track and field
    Adam Van Koeverden, kayaking

    Female Athlete of the Year

    Perdita Felicien, hurdling
    Kalyna Roberge, speed skating
    Karine Sergerie, taekwondo

    Junior Athlete of the Year

    Erica Morningstar, swimming
    Ryan Cochrane, swimming
    Philippe Riopel, speed skating

    Team of the Year

    Curling: Men's World Championship (G. Howard)
    Curling: Women's World Championship (K. Scott)
    Hockey: Men's World Championship team

    Partners of the Year

    Figure Skating World Championship; Ice Dance (Dubreuil/Lauzon)
    Rowing World Championships; Men's Eights
    Swimming: M 4x200 Free (Hurd, Johns, Hayden, Say)

    The Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate an individual's outstanding
contribution to the betterment of sport. Finalists include:

    Leadership in Sport Award

    Dr. Roger Jackson
    Doug Leigh
    Michael Smith

    Coach of the Year Award

    Derrick Campbell
    Paul Kristofic
    Scott Oldershaw

    The Corporate Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates a corporation
who provides outstanding support to Canadian sport. Finalists include:

    Bell Canada
    General Motors of Canada
    Capital One Canada

    The Investors Group Spirit of Sport Story of the Year category recognizes
and celebrates Canadian heroes who, in the pursuit of sporting excellence,
have demonstrated values such as fairness, inclusion, perseverance,
sportsmanship, respect for others, and a true love of sport. Finalists

    Sue Swain
    Lauren Woolstencroft
    Ray Zahab

    Nomination Eligibility

    Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for
the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also
self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from
January 1, 2007 through to December 31, 2007.
    The CSA brings together leaders from the sporting and corporate
communities who represent the pinnacle of commitment and competition: Canadian
amateur athletes, coaches, sport leaders and volunteers. The annual event
promotes sporting excellence across Canada, and reminds Canadians how sport
lifts the human spirit.

    About the True Sport Foundation

    The True Sport Foundation is a charitable organization committed to
ensuring that sport makes a positive contribution to Canadian society. Managed
by the Foundation, the Canadian Sport Awards boasts a strong relationship with
its modern day founding partners, which include Athletes CAN, the Commonwealth
Games Association of Canada, the Canada Games and the Canadian Centre for
Ethics in Sport. For more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please
    For complete nomination rules and guidelines, and more information about
the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit

For further information:

For further information: Robin Turnbull, Canadian Sport Awards, Program
Director, (416) 604-0310,; Victor Lachance, Executive
Director, True Sport Foundation, (613) 521-3340 x 3224,

Organization Profile

Canadian Sport Awards

More on this organization

True Sport Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890