Trudeau Foundation Taps Diverse Leaders to Mentor Star Scholars

    Former Cabinet Ministers, Naval Commander, Reform Party House Leader,
    Filmmaker and Humanitarian among those selected as 2008 Trudeau Mentors

    New Mentors and Scholars to Congregate in Toronto, Feb 4-5, 2008

    MONTREAL, Jan. 29 /CNW/ - The Trudeau Foundation's track record of
engaging remarkable, highly accomplished Canadians from diverse backgrounds
continues today with the addition of nine distinguished Trudeau Mentors,
including Janice MacKinnon, former Saskatchewan cabinet minister; Larry
Murray, former Commander of the First Canadian Destroyer Squadron; former
Reform Party House Leader Ray Speaker; and Alex Neve, Secretary General of
Amnesty International Canada, among others.
    Each Trudeau Mentor is linked with an outstanding university student who
has been awarded a prestigious Trudeau Scholarship. The new 2008
Mentor-Scholar relationships kick off February 4-5, when the pairs all meet
for the first time in Toronto, along with current and previous Mentors and
Scholars. Over the course of an 18-month Mentorship program (and often beyond
that) the pairs collaborate on ideas, research and initiatives in the areas of
citizenship, Canada's role internationally, human rights and social justice,
and the environment.
    "The Trudeau Foundation Mentorship program takes place outside the
comfort of academia and is like a reality check for new ideas aimed at
resolving concrete social issues," said P.G. Forest, President of the Trudeau
Foundation. "By pairing some of the best and brightest young Canadian scholars
with well-known, highly experienced leaders, an intensely productive
environment is created."
    Unlike other mentorship programs, Trudeau Scholars and Mentors are not
necessarily engaged in the same fields of activity or research. Instead, the
central factor in the pairing is the reciprocal commitment to openly discuss
matters of shared interest.
    Previous Trudeau Mentors include former Justice of the Supreme Court of
Canada, Frank Iacobucci; United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights,
Louise Arbour; former British Columbia Premier Michael Harcourt; award-winning
journalist Stephanie Nolen; and Sheila Watt-Cloutier, Former Chair of the
Inuit Circumpolar Conference and reportedly among the nominees for the 2007
Nobel Prize won by Al Gore.

    The 2008 Trudeau Mentors:

    -   Dyane Adam, former Commissioner of Official Languages.

    -   Robert Fowler, Foreign Policy Advisor to Prime Ministers Trudeau,
        Turner and Mulroney; Canada's longest serving Ambassador to the
        United Nations.

    -   Sylvia D. Hamilton, award-winning filmmaker, writer and educator
        known for her documentaries exploring the history, contributions and
        experiences of African Canadians.

    -   Janice MacKinnon, former Minister of Finance, Minister of Social
        Services, Minister of Economic Development and Government House
        leader at the Government of Saskatchewan.

    -   Louise Mailhot, first woman appointed judge to the Court of Appeal of

    -   Larry Murray, former Commander of the First Canadian Destroyer
        Squadron and Acting Chief of Defence Staff; former Deputy Minister of
        Veterans Affairs Canada and Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

    -   Alex Neve, Secretary General of Amnesty International Canada.

    -   Monica Patten, President and Chief Executive Officer of Community
        Foundations of Canada.

    -   Raymond A. Speaker, former Reform Party of Canada Finance Critic and
        House Leader; former Government of Alberta Cabinet Minister.

    (Additional biographical information is available upon request.)

    About the Trudeau Foundation

    The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation funds outstanding scholars who
conduct research in crucial societal issues, and creates opportunities for
dialogue and multidisciplinary collaboration across organizations and
disciplines under four key themes: Human Rights and Social Justice,
Responsible Citizenship, Canada and the World, and Humans in their Natural
Environment. Since being established in 2002, the Foundation has granted over
130 major awards to top researchers and highly accomplished individuals, in
Canada and abroad. For more information visit

For further information:

For further information: or to speak with a Trudeau Mentor or Scholar:
Catharine Marion or Josh Cobden (English), Environics Communications, (416)
920-9000; Yvon Desautels (French), Capital Image, (514) 739-1188 ext. 222

Organization Profile

The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890