Town of Perth receives Lieutenant Governor's award

    PERTH, ON, Feb. 18 /CNW/ - The Town of Perth is one of four communities
receiving the 2008 Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Award for Community
Leadership. The award recognizes communities for exemplary leadership in
heritage conservation and promotion.
    "This award acknowledges communities on the leading edge of heritage
conservation in this province," said the Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant
Governor of Ontario. "The Town of Perth should be proud of its
    The Lieutenant Governor will present the awards at a Queen's Park
ceremony on February 20, in the presence of the Honourable Lincoln M.
Alexander, Chairman of the Ontario Heritage Trust, as part of the province's
Heritage Week celebrations. The awards will be presented in conjunction with
the Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Awards recognizing volunteer
    "We're delighted the Town of Perth is receiving this special award," said
Mr. Alexander. "Their leadership in conserving local heritage sets a strong
example for other communities across the province."
    The Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Award for Community Leadership
is awarded in four population sub-categories. The four recipients are: the
Town of Perth (population under 10,000), the Municipality of Port Hope
(population from 10,000 to 50,000), the City of Kingston (population of 50,000
to 125,000) and the Town of Markham (population over 125,000).
    "The Town of Perth is honoured to receive this prestigious award," said
John Fenik, Mayor of the Town of Perth. "I am happy to accept this award on
behalf of our ancestors, who had amazing foresight and on behalf of the many
volunteers who protect and preserve Perth's heritage landscape."
    The Town of Perth has set a standard of excellence in heritage
conservation. The municipal heritage committee has been instrumental in the
designation of 37 properties under the Ontario Heritage Act; owners of
designated properties are eligible for a restoration grant program; and
several municipally owned and designated properties have been restored by the
town. Perth's Official Plan provides mechanisms and policies for conserving
heritage, including buildings and structures, cultural landscapes and
archaeological resources. To protect the town's natural resources, Perth also
has a number of green initiatives, including the volunteer-driven ecoPerth.
    This small community has participated in Doors Open Ontario and Heritage
Week celebrations and is planning for the 175th anniversary of the Tay Canal
in 2009. As a recipient of the Heritage Canada Foundation's Prince of Wales
Prize (2004) and home to three National Historic Sites, this town has embraced
its heritage, branding itself "Heritage Perth - Aged to Perfection."
    In addition to the recipients of the Community Leadership Award, four
communities are receiving honourable mentions: the Village of Manotick, the
City of Thorold, the Town of Aurora and the City of Hamilton.
    The Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Awards are administered by the
Ontario Heritage Trust, an agency of the Government of Ontario dedicated to
identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting Ontario's heritage.

    Quick Facts:

    -   The Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Awards were established in
        2007 by the Honourable James K. Bartleman, former Lieutenant Governor
        of Ontario, in partnership with the Ontario Heritage Trust.

    -   The Community Leadership Award was added in 2008. This will be the
        first time it is presented.

    Learn More:

    -   See the media release <a href="">Lieutenant Governor recognizes volunteers and</a>
        <a href="">communities for work to conserve Ontario's heritage</a> for information
        on all recipients of the 2008 Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage

    -   Visit or for more
        information on the awards.

                         Aussi disponible en français

For further information:

For further information: Catrina Colme, Marketing and Communications
Coordinator, Ontario Heritage Trust, Telephone: (416) 325-5074, E-mail:; Shellee Evans, Director of Community
Services, The Corporation of the Town of Perth, Telephone: (613) 267-3311 ext.
2227, E-mail:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890