Town of Aurora, Ontario to receive 2008 Prince of Wales Prize

    OTTAWA, Sept. 19 /CNW Telbec/ - The Heritage Canada Foundation is pleased
to announce the Town of Aurora, Ontario, as the 2008 recipient of the Prince
of Wales Prize. Established in 1999 under the patronage of His Royal Highness
The Prince of Wales, the award honours a municipal government for
demonstrating exemplary commitment to the preservation of its built heritage.
    Since the 1950s, when the historic Church Street School was acquired by
the municipality, thereby ensuring the conservation of this significant
architectural landmark, the Town of Aurora has worked to preserve and protect
the heritage of its community for future generations.
    As one of the first communities in Ontario to establish a Municipal
Heritage Advisory Committee in the 1970s, the Town of Aurora has long
recognized the important role heritage resources can play in both social and
economic development. As early as 1975, heritage policies that emphasized the
preservation of historic neighbourhoods were included in the Town's Official
    The Town of Aurora has demonstrated its commitment to heritage
conservation through the designation of individual properties and heritage
districts, the adoption of a complete register of properties of cultural
heritage value, and the preservation of its railway heritage through the
restoration of the historic Aurora Train Station for use as a commuter rail
station. Over the past 25 years, the Town has supported the Aurora Museum,
including a recent $2.5 million investment towards the rehabilitation of the
1886 Church Street School into the Aurora Heritage Centre. The Town of Aurora
has also taken a number of steps to involve residents in the public enjoyment
of its history.
    The Town of Saint-Raymond de Portneuf, Quebec, will receive the
first-ever Prince of Wales Prize Honourable Mention for its commitment to
heritage preservation. The revitalization plans for the downtown area
successfully incorporated the restoration and rehabilitation of the town's
heritage buildings as catalysts for economic renewal.
    The Prince of Wales Prize, which consists of a plaque, framed scroll and
pennant with the insignia of The Prince of Wales and the Heritage Canada
Foundation, will be presented to Mayor Phyllis Morris at a special gala
ceremony to be held at the Foundation's annual conference on Friday, September
26, 2008, at the restored Théâtre Impérial in Québec City. Previous recipients
include Markham, Ontario; Victoria, British Columbia; Saint-John, New
Brunswick; Québec, Québec; Perth, Ontario; Charlottetown, Prince Edward
Island; Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia and St. John's, Newfoundland and

    Click the <a href="">Backgrounder</a> for more information about the Town of Aurora.

    The Town of Aurora was nominated by Ms. Valerie Fleck and supported by
the Aurora Historical Society.

For further information:

For further information: Carolyn Quinn, Director, Communications, (613)
237-1066 ext 229, Cell (613) 797-7206; Robyn Smart, Office of the Mayor of
Aurora, (905) 726-4741

Organization Profile

Heritage Canada Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890