The New Health Professionals Network's Fourth Annual Tommy Douglas Celebration of Medicare Awards to be presented today

    TORONTO, June 12 /CNW/ - Canada's future healthcare professionals, the
New Health Professionals Network, will present the Fourth Annual Tommy Douglas
Awards in conjunction with the Association of Ontario Health Centres'
conference on "Chronic Disease: Meeting the Challenge in the Second Stage of
    The Tommy Douglas Celebration of Medicare Awards are given to innovative
projects across Canada that demonstrate excellence in the public healthcare
system, with the approval of the Douglas family.
    The NHPN ( was formed in 2004 to represent
health professionals training in nursing, social work, medicine,
physiotherapy, occupational therapy, and chiropractics. NHPN membership is
currently over 20,000 strong.

    There are winners in four categories this year; the 2008 Tommy Douglas
Celebration of Medicare Awards are:

    For Disease Management:

        Dodging Diabetes in Saint John; Saint John, New Brunswick

    For Home Care:

        Interprofessional Community Outreach Team, Gateway Community Health
        Centre; Tweed, Ontario

    For Mental Health:

        Transcultural Mental Wellness Team, North Hamilton Community Health
        Centre in Partnership with St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton;
        Hamilton, Ontario

    For Primary Care:

        Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health; Ottawa, Ontario


For further information:

For further information: Rhonda Trowell: (416) 597-3631

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890