The Ken Standing Award

    TORONTO, March 1 /CNW/ - The winner of The Ken Standing Award will be
recognized at the 3rd International Symposium on Enabling Technologies for
Proteomics (ETP 2007) on May 10, 2007, at the MaRS Centre, 101 College Street,
    This year's winner of The Ken Standing Award is Dr. John D. Brennan of
the Department of Chemistry at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario.
Professor Brennan is a young scientist who has already become a world leader
in the area of protein immobilization within porous sol/gel-derived silica
materials. The key concept behind Dr. Brennan's work is the way in which small
molecules interact with proteins in a stable "bioglass" that can be used to an
assay for the protein, small molecules, and biochemical cascades. Improved
understanding of these interactions will be useful for drug discovery and for
clarification of biochemical pathways.
    Dr. Brennan will be speaking about his work at ETP 2007. For more
information, please go to
    The Ken Standing Award was created to honour the lifetime achievements of
Dr. Kenneth G. Standing, Professor Emeritus, Dept. of Physics & Astronomy,
University of Manitoba. Dr. Standing has received many honours during his
distinguished career, including the Canadian Society for Mass Spectrometry
Award for Distinguished Contributions to Mass Spectrometry in 1998, the
Canadian Association of Physicists Medal for Outstanding Achievement in
Industrial & Applied Physics in 2003 and the American Chemical Society's Field
and Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry in 2004.
He was elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2004, and in
the same year as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Most recently (2007)
and under his leadership the Manitoba-MDS-Sciex team was awarded NSERC's
Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and
Engineering, a prize established to honour the memory of Bertram Brockhouse,
Canada's Nobel Laureate in Physics.
    Dr. Standing's exemplary career continues to provide an inspiration to
new generations of scientists in Canada and elsewhere. The organizers of the
International Symposium on Enabling Technologies for Proteomics (ETP)
established the Ken Standing Award to honour the lifetime achievements of this
distinguished Canadian scientist. The award consists of a $5000 (CDN) cash
grant and a commemorative sculpture, and is presented at the biennial ETP
Symposium to a young scientist who has made a significant contribution to the
development of technology related to the life sciences. The award is sponsored
by Genome Alberta, the University of Manitoba, and MDS Sciex.

    ETP Symposium Inc. is a non-profit corporation which organizes and
operates educational seminars and forums to facilitate the presentation,
discussion and research into new developments in innovative technology for the
life sciences. It provides an interdisciplinary opportunity for international
researchers and scientists to develop technology to extend the bioanalytical
capabilities of researchers in the life sciences area.

For further information:

For further information: Janette Champ, Phone (905) 589-0059, Email

Organization Profile

Genome Alberta

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890