The Canadian Home Furnishings Awards - a celebration of excellence and achievement

    MISSISSAUGA, ON, Oct. 24 /CNW/ - The 2009 edition of the Canadian Home
Furnishings Awards will be held on Friday, January 9, 2009 at the Conference
Centre in the International Centre, Mississauga, Ontario.
    The Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance will host a gala dinner to honour
the recipients of the 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award - Larry Rogers,
President and CEO of Sealy Corporation and the Retailer of the Year - Sleep
Country Canada. The awards gala will also honour the recipients of the
Retailers' Choice Award. This is the 8th year the CHFA has celebrated the best
in the Canadian Home Furnishings Industry. These awards acknowledge the
leaders in our industry and recognize their exceptional accomplishments.
    The event has been moved from Sunday evening to Friday night in order for
the Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance and the Quebec Furniture Manufacturers'
Association to co-host a reception on the evening of the Canadian Home
Furnishings Awards and the opening of the Canadian Home Furnishings Market,
the industry's largest and most important trade event.
    The CHFA established the Lifetime Achievement Award to recognize those
individuals who over their lifetime have made exemplary and sustained
contributions to the Canadian home furnishings industry and their communities.
Larry Rogers has certainly met those standards throughout his long and
distinguished career. "Over the years Larry has played an outstanding and
significant role in the success of Sealy and has recently been appointed
President/CEO. He is a top level, high-energy business executive who is
respected for his exceptional experience, solid customer relationships and
commitment to leadership excellence. Larry is a most deserving recipient of
the Lifetime Achievement Award," said Laine Reynolds who serves as Chair,
Board of Directors for the Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance.
    Larry Rogers joined Sealy in 1979 and has served in a number of roles
within the company and was most recently President of Sealy North America in
December 2006. Prior to this appointment he served as President of Sealy
International and as President of Sealy Canada. Larry has over thirty years
experience in the bedding industry.
    The 2008 honourees for the LAA were John Colalillo, President of
Superstyle Furniture and Mario Colalillo, President, Edgewood Furniture. Prior
recipients of the LAA include Hugh Owen, President of Owen & Company/Kingsdown
Canada and Past Chair, Board of Directors of the Ontario Furniture
Manufacturers Association; the late Orville Mead, then President of Durham
Furniture; Terry Clark, long time President of the Canadian Council of
Furniture Manufacturers and Chair, Board of Directors of Furniture; Serge
Racine of Shermag; Guy Laflamme of South Shore Industries LTD; Bruce
MacPherson of Gibbard Furniture and Pat Thody, former President and Chief
Executive Officer of Simmons Canada.
    The Retailer of the Year Award is dedicated to recognizing exemplary
models of excellence and community service by Canadian furniture retail
businesses. Reynolds noted that, "Sleep Country Canada is a great example of a
retailer that truly represents success in our industry. They embody the spirit
of enterprise and innovation that is admired and provides inspiration for
other businesses to follow. Sleep Country is a very worthy recipient of this
coveted award."
    Sleep Country Canada began with just four stores and one warehouse. It
has grown to encompass 133 stores and 13 distribution centres with more than
700 staff operating out of 5 provinces from Ontario to British Columbia. Sleep
Country Canada also owns a chain of stores in Quebec called Dormez-vous and
Sleep America in the United States. Sleep Country Canada believes it is their
duty to give something back to the communities across Canada that have helped
their business grow. Charity events and community organizations are the
beneficiaries of Sleep Country Canada's generosity.
    The 2008 Retailer of the Year was Mel and Blayne Lastman, founder and
re-founder of Lastman's Bad Boy. Prior honourees include the Mega Group, Mark
Dufresne, President and CEO of the Dufresne Group; Dennis Novosel of Stoney
Creek Furniture; Leon's; Tepperman's and Bill Comrie, formerly President and
CEO of the Brick.
    Retailers will be asked to vote on-line for the supplier who does the
best job not just in designing and building a product but also when it comes
to marketing, service and delivery. The winners will be honoured with the
Retailers' Choice Award at the gala dinner.
    Manufacturers are divided into two categories: $10 million Cdn. and under
in annual sales and over $10 million Cdn. Every member of the Canadian Home
Furnishings Alliance, Furniture West or the Quebec Furniture Manufacturers'
Association is eligible for the award. Retailers will be able to vote on-line
commencing in late October until December 31, 2008.

    The Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance is an industry association
representing home furnishings manufacturers, importers/distributors and
suppliers to the industry.

For further information:

For further information: on the association or the Canadian Home
Furnishings Awards, please contact Murray Vaughan, President of the Canadian
Home Furnishings Alliance at (905) 677-6561 or by e-mail at

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890