The Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal honours the four 2008 Great Montrealers: Rémi Marcoux, Denise Robert, Heather Munroe-Blum, and Peter A. Howlett

    MONTREAL, Oct. 29 /CNW Telbec/ - Tonight, the Board of Trade of
Metropolitan Montreal pays tribute to four new Great Montrealers during a
reception in their honour at the Centre d'archives de Montréal in the presence
of Gérald Tremblay, mayor of Montréal.
    The four new inductees to the Academy of Great Montrealers are as
follows: in the economic sector, Rémi Marcoux, executive chair of the board,
Transcontinental Inc.; in the cultural sector, Denise Robert, president and
producer, Cinémaginaire; in the scientific sector, Heather Munroe-Blum,
principal and vice-chancellor, McGill University; and in the social sector,
Peter A. Howlett, president, Portage.
    "For thirty years now, the Board of Trade has highlighted the remarkable
contributions of people who have worked tirelessly to nurture passions - their
own, of course, but often those of others as well. The individuals we honour
tonight are both the heart and soul of a metropolis that is proud of the
inspiring examples they set. Thanks to these four Great Montrealers, many
dreams have not only been dreamt but also come true, to the great benefit of
our metropolis," declared Isabelle Hudon, president and CEO of the Board of
Trade of Metropolitan Montreal.
    "These four inductees are living proof that Montréal deserves its
reputation as a city of knowledge and innovation, recognized everywhere for
the originality of its culture and the extent of its compassion. I salute the
wisdom of the Board of Trade and the Academy in making these judicious
choices," added Gérald Tremblay, mayor of Montréal.
    The Academy of Great Montrealers of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan
Montreal also takes advantage of this opportunity to present Awards of
Excellence to three doctoral students, graduates of one of Montréal's four
universities or one of their affiliated schools, for the excellence of their
research. The 2008 winners are as follows: in the humanities and social
sciences/fine arts category, Geneviève Lafrance, Department of French
Literature, Université de Montréal; in the natural sciences and engineering
category, Joshua Schwartz, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
McGill University; and in the health sciences category, Jonathan
Michaud-Lévesque, Department of Chemistry, Université du Québec à Montréal.
    This annual Board of Trade event is made possible this year by the
financial support of Canada Economic Development, CN, and the SITQ. Including
this year's four inductees, 106 men and women have been honoured in this way
and together constitute the Academy of Great Montrealers, created by the Board
of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal in 1988. The photos and biographical notes
of this year's inductees can be found on the Board of Trade's Web site.

    The Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal has some 7,000 members. Its
mission is to represent the interests of the business community of Greater
Montréal and to provide individuals, merchants, and local businesses of all
sizes with a variety of specialized services to help them achieve their full
potential in terms of innovation, productivity and competitiveness. The Board
of Trade is Quebec's leading private economic development organization.

For further information:

For further information: Sylvie Paquette, Coordinator, Media Relations,
Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal, (514) 871-4000, extension 4015,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890