The Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector

    Celebrating excellence in comptrollership, accountability and financial

    TORONTO, Jan. 8 /CNW/ - For the first time ever, federal public servants
can nominate themselves and/or their colleagues for the Award of Excellence
for Comptrollership in the Public Sector - an annual award that will celebrate
remarkable examples of public sector comptrollership and sound financial
    The award, sponsored by The Society of Management Accountants of Canada
(CMA Canada) and the UK-based Chartered Institute of Public Finance and
Accountancy (CIPFA), recognizes a talented federal public servant or team who
has made "a significant contribution" to financial management and/or
comptrollership within the Government of Canada.
    "This award will celebrate innovative thinking and showcase tangible
contributions to financial management and comptrollership within the
Government of Canada. CMA Canada is proud to sponsor this award because it
recognizes the values that Certified Management Accountants possess - creative
thinking, perseverance and innovative solutions," said Steve Vieweg, President
and CEO, CMA Canada.
    "This award also complements the Certified Management
Accountant/Chartered Public Finance Accountant (CMA/CPFA) dual designation
program developed by CMA Canada and CIPFA in 2005. Both the award and dual
designation program will help strengthen financial management performance and
accountability across Canada's federal government," said Steve Freer, Chief
Executive Officer, CIPFA.
    The 2009 selection committee is composed of distinguished public servants
and private sector practitioners. It consists of:

    Ruth Dantzer - President and CEO, Canada School of Public Service
    Richard Dicerni - Deputy Minister, Industry Canada
    Rod Monette - Comptroller General of Canada
    Richard Monk - Managing Director, Welch Consulting Group
    Michael Tinkler - Professional Practice Manager, Raymond Chabot Grant
    Thornton / Synerma Inc.
    Steve Vieweg - President and CEO, CMA Canada

    The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 16, 2009. The award
ceremony will take place on Monday, May 25, 2009, in Ottawa, ON. The award
recipient(s) will receive a plaque, as well as a $1,000 contribution to a
registered charity or scholarship fund of their choice.
    For more information on the award and to complete the nomination process,

For further information:

For further information: Cindy Mantione, Communications Officer, Tel:
1-800-263-7622 ext. 3116, E-mail:, Web:; Nicolas Todd, Bluesky Strategy Group Inc., Tel:
(613) 255-1478, E-mail:

Organization Profile

CMA Canada

More on this organization

Society of Management Accountants of Canada

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890