The 2008 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction

    Shortlist Announcement to take place Tuesday, January 22

    TORONTO, Jan. 11 /CNW/ - Finalists for the 7th Charles Taylor Prize for
Literary Non-Fiction (CTP) will be announced at a press conference on Tuesday,
January 22nd at 10:00 a.m. in the Consort Bar of downtown Toronto's Le Royal
Meridien King Edward Hotel. The CTP is one of the richest and most prestigious
literary awards in the country, and is widely acknowledged as the award that
recognizes excellence in Canadian non-fiction.
    The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is awarded annually to
the Canadian author whose book best combines a superb command of the English
language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception.
    The jury will select their 2008 shortlist from an unprecedented 137 books
submitted by publishers across Canada that were published between November 1,
2006 and October 31, 2007 and authored by a Canadian citizen or permanent
resident. Both the shortlist and winner announcements take place on new dates
and at a new venue.

    Jurors for The 2008 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction are:

    Charlotte Gray (Ottawa) is most recently the author of Reluctant Genius,
The Passionate Life and Inventive Mind of Alexander Graham Bell (2006) ... she
is the 2003 Recipient of the Pierre Berton Award for distinguished achievement
in popularizing Canadian history. Charlotte Gray is a member of the Order of

    J.B. MacKinnon (Vancouver) is most recently the co-author of The 100-Mile
Diet: A Year of Local Eating, a national bestseller. MacKinnon's first book,
Dead Man in Paradise, won the 2006 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary

    The Honourable John Manley (Ottawa), former Liberal cabinet minister and
deputy Prime Minister, is currently a director of Nortel Networks, the
Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, and the Canadian Pacific Railway. He is
Counsel in the Ottawa and Toronto offices of the law firm McCarthy Tetrault.

    For complete biographies of all three CTP jurors please visit

    The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction was established by the
trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation to commemorate the life and work of
the late Charles Taylor, a foreign correspondent with The Globe and Mail and
author of four books: Radical Tories; Reporter in Red China; Six Journeys: A
Canadian Pattern and Snow Job. Since its inaugural presentation, public
interest in the genre of Canadian non-fiction has grown substantially.
    The winner will be announced at a gala luncheon in the newly restored
Sovereign Ballroom of Le Royal Meridien King Edward Hotel on Monday,
March 3rd. The Prize consists of $25,000 for the winning author and $2,000 for
each of the finalists. All shortlisted titles receive extensive national
publicity and marketing support.
    Established in 2000 as a biennial award, the Charles Taylor Prize for
Literary Non-Fiction has been presented annually since 2004. Past CTP winners
    2000   Wayne Johnston for Baltimore's Mansion: A Memoir
    2002   Carol Shields for Jane Austen
    2004   Isabel Huggan for Belonging: Home Away from Home
    2005   Charles Montgomery for The Last Heathen: Encounters with Ghosts
            and Ancestors in Melanesia
    2006   J.B. MacKinnon for Dead Man in Paradise
    2007   Rudy Wiebe for Of this Earth: A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal

    The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are Michael Bradley
(Toronto), Judith Mappin (Montreal), David Staines (Ottawa), and Noreen Taylor
    The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is presented by the
Charles Taylor Foundation with support from their partners: AVFX, Ben McNally
Books, BookTelevision, Bravo, CBC Radio One, CNW Group, The Globe and Mail,
Quill & Quire, and Windfields Farm.

    For more information please visit:

    For high resolution images of the jurors:
    Charlotte Gray:
    John Manley:
    J.B. MacKinnon:

For further information:

For further information: Media contact: Stephen Weir & Associates,
Stephen Weir: (416) 489-5868, cell: (416) 801-3101,;
Linda Crane: (905) 257-6033, cell: (416) 727-0112,; June
Dickenson: (647) 477-6000, cell: (905) 541-4556,

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890