Student Journalism Awards Announced

    VANCOUVER, Oct. 10 /CNW/ - Jack Webster Foundation Co-Chairs Neil Soper
and Debora Sweeney today announced the recipients of seven Jack Webster
Foundation Student Journalism Awards.
    Allison Cross (North Vancouver) from UBC, Aaron Joseph (Vancouver) from
Kwantlen University College, Brent Shearer (North Vancouver) and Teresa Tang
(Burnaby) from BCIT, Tamara Cunningham (Lantzville) and Tim Petruk (Kamloops)
from Thompson Rivers University and Justine Davidson (Vancouver) from Langara
College are the 2007 recipients.
    This program has been generously sponsored by BC Hydro since 2001 and the
Hospital Employees' Union (HEU) since 2006. New this year is funding from the
Dennis Skulsky Student Journalism Fund. Each student receives $2,000 towards
    "We're very appreciative of the recognition by BC Hydro and the Hospital
Employees' Union of the importance of supporting access to education for
future journalists," said Soper. "Also, this year, we welcome the support of
the Dennis Skulsky Student Journalism Fund which provides additional funding
for these students who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to their
    A total of 72 BC journalism students have received educational funding
since the program was initiated in 2001.

    The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986 to recognize and
encourage excellence in BC-based journalism in the name of Jack Webster and
his legacy of insightful, accurate and uncompromising reporting during his
more than 40 years of print, radio and television journalism.
    The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship
of Accenture, Bell Canada, British Columbia Lottery Corporation, CGA
Association, CN, HSBC Bank Canada, Labatt Breweries of British Columbia,
Terasen Gas, Vancouver International Airport Authority, Vancouver Port
Authority and WorkSafe BC.

    2007 JACK WEBSTER AWARDS DINNER - OCTOBER 22, 2007 Visit the Jack Webster
    Foundation's website at

For further information:

For further information: Nora Newlands, Executive Director, Jack Webster
Foundation at (604) 261-6184 or by email at

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890