Sport BC Announces 2007 Athlete of the Year Awards

    Annual Ceremony Celebrates Achievements in BC Sporting Community

    VANCOUVER, March 5 /CNW/ - Sport BC honoured outstanding contributions
from the BC sporting community tonight at the 42nd Annual Athlete of the Year
Awards. Athletes, coaches, volunteers and officials from across the province
were recognized with an award from 17 distinct categories, which celebrate
recipients for their achievements and dedication to sport.

    Sport BC Athlete of the Year Award Recipients:

    Team of the Year:                       Coach of the Year:
    The Kelly Scott Team, Curling           Mike Spracklen, Rowing
    (Sponsored by Team 1040 Sports Radio)   (Sponsored by Canadian Sport
                                            Centre Pacific)

    Official of the Year:                   Athlete with Disability:
    Jack McDonald, Golf                     Michelle Stilwell, Wheelchair
    (Sponsored by Flight Centre)            Athletics
                                            (Sponsored by SportsFunder)

    High School Female Athlete of           High School Male Athlete of
    the Year:                               the Year:
    Sabrina Nettey, Athletics               Manjot Sandhu, Wrestling
    (Sponsored by Subway)                   (Sponsored by Subway)

    Junior Female Athlete of the Year:      Junior Male Athlete of the Year:
    Rebecca Marino, Tennis                  Kyle Turris, Ice Hockey
    (Sponsored by BC Ferries)               (Sponsored by The Vancouver Sun)

    College Athlete of the Year:            University Athlete of the Year:
    Lyndsay Thomson, Badminton              Brian Johns, Swimming
    (Sponsored by Copasetic Creative)       (Sponsored by The Province)

    Senior Female Athlete of the Year:      Senior Male Athlete of the Year:
    Britt Janyk, Alpine Skiing              Brent Hayden, Swimming
    (Sponsored by CTV)                      (Sponsored by TELUS)

    Master Athlete of the Year:             Best of BC:
    Alison Murdoch, Golf                    Jeff Francis, Baseball
    (Sponsored by Hyatt Regency Vancouver)  (Sponsored by British Columbia
                                            Ministry of Tourism, Sport and
                                            the Arts)

    TELUS Community Champion Award:
    Trevor Linden, Ice Hockey
    (Sponsored by TELUS)

    Award Categories Announced March 4, 2008:

    Harry Jerome Comeback Award:            Daryl Thompson Award:
    Carling Muir, Basketball                Sohen Gill, Lacrosse
    (Sponsored by WorkSafe BC)              (Sponsored by Wolf Blass)

    "This year's recipients have set a high standard in their respective
sports and are outstanding representatives of the BC sporting community," said
Paul Varian, President and CEO, Sport BC. "We are proud not only to honour
their achievements but to celebrate their commitment and dedication to sport."
    This year's finalists represent over 21 BC communities and 20 different
sports, highlighting the depth of sporting achievements seen throughout the
province. For the most part, award recipients were chosen by a selection
committee, composed of more than 30 media representatives and sport leaders
from around the province. The Daryl Thompson Award recipient was selected by
the Board of Directors of Sport BC from nominations brought forth by Sport
BC's member Provincial Organizations.
    For the first time, the BC public was invited to vote on the newest award
category, the TELUS Community Champion Award. The award recognizes an athlete
who has made extraordinary contributions on and off the field and in doing so
inspires others to get in the game and do the same. In the spirit of the
award, TELUS granted $10,000 on behalf of inaugural recipient Trevor Linden to
KidSport(TM) BC, to provide funding for children who could otherwise be denied
the opportunity to participate in sport.

    Sport BC's Annual Athlete of the Year Awards is the longest-standing
sport recognition event in the country. Presented by TELUS the event was made
possible through the generous support of sponsors, including Team 1040 Sports
Radio, Canadian Sport Centre Pacific, BC Ferries, Copasetic Creative, CTV, and
Hyatt Regency Vancouver, Vancouver Sun, The Province, Wolf Blass, WorkSafe BC,
British Columbia Ministry of Tourism, SportFunder, Flight Centre, and Subway.

    About Athlete of the Year Awards
    Presented by Sport BC, the Athlete of the Year Awards is the
longest-standing sport recognition event in the country. Awards in 17
different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, officials and
volunteers based on their performance and contribution to sport in the
province. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success and
recognizing some of BC's growing talents, such as past recipients Nancy Green
Raine (Senior Female Athlete of the Year Award 1967 and 1968, Alpine Skiing),
Rick Hansen (Athlete with a Disability Award 1979 and 1980, Wheelchair
Athletics) Scott Niedermayer (Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award 1991, Ice
Hockey) and James Lepp (Junior Male Athlete of the Year 2001/Senior Male
Athlete of the Year 2003 and 2005, Golf). For further information on the 42nd
Annual Athlete of the Year Awards, please visit

    About KidSport(TM) BC
    KidSport(TM) was established by Sport BC in 1993. This program provides
sport registration grants to financially disadvantaged children in order to
remove the barriers that prevent some children from playing sport. Each year,
the program helps more than 2,000 kids play a season of sport. Since its
inception in British Columbia, KidSport(TM) has helped more than 20,000
children participate in over 60 different sports. For more information, please

    About Sport BC
    Sport BC is the provincial federation for amateur organized sport,
representing more than 80 member sport organizations, including 64 provincial
sport organizations. As the voice of sport in British Columbia, Sport BC
provides leadership and support to foster the growth and development of sport.
For further information on Sport BC, visit

For further information:

For further information: Dawn Tse, Susan Boyd, Weber Shandwick
Worldwide, T: (604) 601-8565, (604) 601-8568, C: (604) 728-2694, (604)

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890