Shell Canada Announces Changes to its Board Structure

    CALGARY, April 4 /CNW/ - On April 2, 2007, Royal Dutch Shell plc (RDS)
announced that its wholly-owned subsidiary, Shell Investments Limited (SIL),
had taken up an aggregate of 172,696,415 common shares of Shell Canada Limited
tendered to its offer mailed to shareholders on February 8 and extended on
March 16. SIL and its affiliates now beneficially own 816,005,273 common
shares, or approximately 98.8% of the outstanding common shares, of Shell
Canada and will seek the remaining common shares through its right of
compulsory acquisition.
    In accordance with the terms of the Support Agreement with Shell Canada
dated January 23, 2007, SIL has now exercised its right to designate the
members of the Shell Canada board and its committees. The number of directors
has been reduced from twelve to eight, with the resignations of Louise
Fréchette, O.C., David Galloway, Ida Goodreau and Raymond Royer, O.C. The
Board of Directors will continue with five independent directors - Derek
Burney, O.C. (Lead Director), Kerry Hawkins, David Kerr, Ronald Osborne and
Nancy Southern - and Clive Mather (President and CEO) and two directors who
are officers of RDS or an affiliate thereof - Marvin Odum and Rob Routs
(Chairman of the Meetings of the Board).
    The number of board committees has also been reduced. The Nominating and
Governance Committee, the Management Resources and Compensation Committee, the
Pension Subcommittee, the Reserves Committee and the Health, Safety,
Environment & Social Responsibility Committee have been disbanded and the
duties and responsibilities of these committees have reverted to the Board of
Directors. The Audit Committee and the Special Committee (formed to consider
and evaluate the RDS proposal and subsequent offer) will continue with their
delegated responsibilities.
    "I would like to thank Ida Goodreau, Louise Fréchette, David Galloway and
Raymond Royer for their valuable contribution to the Board," said Clive
Mather, President and CEO, of Shell Canada. "Ida and Raymond have served on
the Board for many years and have helped guide the company to growth and
profitability. Louise and David only joined the Board last year, but have
already brought a wealth of experience. Each has served the shareholders of
Shell Canada well and will be very much missed."

For further information:

For further information: Investor Inquiries: Ken Lawrence, Manager,
Investor Relations, (403) 691-2175; Media Inquiries: Janet Rowley, General
Manager, Public Affairs, (403) 691-3899

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890