RTNDA Canada unveils new board of directors

    TORONTO, June 23 /CNW/ - RTNDA Canada - The Association of Electronic
Journalists - is pleased to announce its new board of directors. Elections
were held this past weekend as part of RTNDA Canada's National Conference in

    The newly elected board consists of:

    President             Vice President Radio    Vice President Television
    Cal Johnstone         Jason Moore             Renato Zane
    A-Channel             CKLW                    OMNI Television
    London, ON            Windsor, ON             Toronto, ON

    Treasurer             Representative          Past President
    Andy LeBlanc          Terry Scott             Bob McLaughlin
    CTV                   The Canadian Press      CP24/CTV
    Kitchener, ON         Toronto, ON             Toronto, ON

    RTNDF President       Awards Chair            Conference Chair
    Ken Kingston          Michael Fulmes          Peter Angione
    CJFX-FM               Global Television       A-Channel
    Antigonish, NS        Edmonton, AB            Ottawa, ON

    Atlantic Directors:
    Radio                 Television
    Sheldon MacLeod       Nancy Waugh
    CKBW                  CBC Television
    Bridgewater, NS       Halifax, NS

    Central Directors:
    Radio                 Television
    Jim Van Horne         George Hoff
    Fanshawe College      CBC News
    London, ON            Ottawa, ON

    Prairie Directors:
    Radio                 Television
    Natasha Rapchuk       Jeff Bollenbach
    Corus Entertainment   CTV Television
    Calgary, AB           Winnipeg, MB

    British Columbia Directors:
    Radio                 Television
    Ian Koenigsfest       Sandy Heimlich-Hall
    CKNW                  CFJC
    Vancouver, BC         Kamloops, BC

    Committee Members:
    Bernadette Lee
    Toronto, ON

    Membership:           Awards Committee:       Diversity Committee:
    Clint Thomas          Sandra Watson           Renato Zane
    The Canadian Press    Durham Radio            OMNI Television
    Toronto, ON           Oshawa, ON              Toronto, ON

    Ethics Committee:
    Gerry Phelan          Robert Hurst            John Hinnen
    VOCM Radio            CTV News                Rogers Radio
    St. John's, NL        Toronto, ON             Toronto, ON

    "This past weekend's conference in Ottawa was one of the best ever," said
President Cal Johnstone. "I'm looking forward to building on the progress
RTNDA has made on behalf of broadcast journalism, particularly over the last
two years."

    Some of the key projects the RTNDA Canada Board is working on include:
    -   Working with the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (Administrator
        of the RTNDA Code of Ethics)
    -   Naming of new RTNDA Awards as well as continually working on updating
        the awards criteria
    -   Developing more tools to assist working journalists in Canada
    -   Getting the student members the future of our industry more involved
        in RTNDA Canada

    RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in
Canada. The members of RTNDA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast
journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently
about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions,
opinions and ideas; The RTNDA Canada Code of Ethics adopted by the Canadian
Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our

For further information:

For further information: Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDA
Canada at (416) 756-2213 or email: sherry@rtndacanada.com or visit

Organization Profile

RTNDA Canada

More on this organization

News - Media

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890