RTNDA Canada announces 2006 Central Regional Award Recipients

    TORONTO, April 28 /CNW/ - RTNDA Canada - The Association of Electronic
Journalists has honoured the best in electronic journalism in the Central
Canada region in 2006. RTNDA Canada presented the coveted awards at the
Association's annual Central Canada Regional Professional Development Seminar
in Toronto this evening.
    This year RTNDA Canada created five new award categories to recognize
outstanding videography, use of sound, new media, information programming and
    The RTNDA "Diversity Tool Kit" became an essential addition to Canadian
newsrooms after its release in January. It offers practical solutions to bring
increased diversity to newsrooms and the stories they tell. To acknowledge
those accomplishments RTNDA created a new Diversity Award. Congratulations to
A-Channel Barrie and CBC for winning the inaugural awards in the Central
    Eight television and eleven radio stations received prestigious RTNDA
Canada Excellence in Broadcast Journalism awards. CTV won six awards and CHUM
TV (City TV - A-Channels) took home five awards. Other winners included Global
News and CBC Toronto.
    Radio winners included Mix 106 Owen Sound, CFXN North Bay and EZ Rock
Timmins in the small market category. Medium market winners included CKLW
Windsor, CKTB St. Catharines and CKNX Wingham. The large market winners were
CJAD Montreal, CBC Toronto and Montreal, CFRB Toronto, and AM 640 Toronto.
    "Congratulations to all the winners" said president Bob McLaughlin. "This
is an incredible accomplishment and it shows the outstanding quality of
journalism in Canada"
    The Central Regional winners go on to compete for the RTNDA National
Awards to be presented at the RTNDA National Conference in Vancouver, BC on
June 23, 2007.

    The 2006 TELEVISION winners are:

    Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast

    -   A-Channel London for Bandidos Mass Murder - (Medium Market)
    -   City TV for City News At Six - (Large Market)
    -   Global Quebec for The Evening News - (Honourable Mention - Large

    Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

    -   Global Quebec for Dawson Shooting
    -   CTV Toronto for Transit Strike - (Honourable Mention)
    -   A-Channel London for Bandidos Mass Murder - (Honourable Mention)
    -   CTV Montreal for Shooting at Dawson - (Honourable Mention)

    Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative

    -   CTV Montreal for Scam City
    -   City TV for King West Opticians - (Honourable Mention)

    Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

    -   CTV Southwestern Ontario for Makeover - (Medium Market)
    -   CTV Toronto for Build a Rink - (Large Market)
    -   CBMT CBC English Television for Everybody has a Story - Kristopher's
        Story - (Large Market - Honourable Mention)

    Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

    -   A-Channel in Barrie for When Seconds Count - (Medium Market)
    -   CBC Television for Whale Hunt - (Large Market)
    -   Global News Ontario for Women's Week - (Large Market - Honourable

    Gord Sinclair Award - Special Events

    -   City TV for City Vote 2006

    Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

    -   CTV Toronto for The Bail System

    Sam Ross Award - Editorial/Commentary

    -   Global News Ontario for Bill Carroll - A Reasonable Response

    Best Videography Award

    -   Global News Ontario for Silver Elvis Busker

    News Information Program Award

    -   CTV Montreal for Fatal Fatigue
    -   A-Channel London for Inquiry Lest we Forget - (Honourable Mention)

    Best Use of New Media Award

    -   CTV Toronto for Civic Vote 2006

    Diversity Award

    -   A - Channel Barrie for Hockey Stars
    -   OMNI Television for Muslim Veil Part 1 & 2 - (Honourable Mention)

    The 2006 RADIO winners are:

    Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast

    -   Mix 106 Owen Sound for The 7 AM News - (Small Market)
    -   AM 800 CKLW for Election Aftermath - (Medium Market)
    -   CJAD 800 for Dawson College Shooting - (Large Market)

    Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

    -   AM 800 CKLW for Officer Down
    -   CHOK for Refinery Fury - (Honourable Mention)

    Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative

    -   CBC Radio 99.1 FM Toronto for Corruption Coverups?
    -   AM 920 CKNX for Crystal Meth - (Honourable Mention)

    Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

    -   CFXN: The Moose 106.3 for Thanking our Lucky Stars: Building The
        North Bay Women's Clinic - (Small Market)
    -   AM 920 CKNX for First Riders - (Medium Market)
    -   CBC Radio 99.1 FM Toronto for Should You Help? The Death of Omar
        Wellington - (Large Market)

    Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

    -   EZ Rock - Timmins for Breast Cancer Awareness Series - (Small Market)
    -   Newstalk 610 CKTB for Home is Where the Heart Breaks - (Medium
    -   CBC Radio Montreal for High Notes - (Large Market)

    Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events

    -   CBC Radio Montreal for Dawson - Live

    Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

    -   CJAD 800 for Dawson College Shooting
    -   AM 800 CKLW for Officer Down - (Honourable Mention)
    -   Newstalk 1010 CFRB for The Caledonia Land Dispute - (Honourable

    Sam Ross Award - Editorial/Commentary

    -   AM 640 Toronto Radio for Dirty Carols

    Best Use of Sound Award

    -   Newstalk 1010 CFRB for EMS Ride-Along
    -   AM 640 Toronto Radio for Idol Hopeful - (Honourable Mention)

    Information Program Award

    -   CBC Radio Montreal for Daybreak September 14, 2006

    Best Use of New Media Award

    -   CBC Radio 99.1 FM Toronto for A Wounded Soldier

    Diversity Award

    -   CBC Radio 99.1 FM Toronto for From Both Sides: Domestic Violence in
        Toronto's Tamil Community

    RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in
Canada. The members of RTNDA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast
journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently
about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions,
opinions and ideas. The RTNDA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian
Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our

For further information:

For further information: Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDA
Canada at (416) 756-2213 or email: sherry@rtndacanada.com

Organization Profile

RTNDA Canada

More on this organization

News - Media

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890