Richard Gwyn Wins the 2008 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction

    TORONTO, March 3 /CNW/ - The Winner of the 2008 Charles Taylor Prize for
Literary Non-Fiction is Richard Gwyn (Toronto) for his book, John A.: The Man
Who Made Us: The Life and Times of John A. Macdonald, published by Random
House Canada.
    The prize of $25,000.00 was awarded Monday, March 3, 2008 at a gala
luncheon held in the historic Sovereign Ballroom of Toronto's Le Royal
Meridien King Edward Hotel.
    The four runners-up - Kevin Bazzana, David Gilmour, Lorna Goodison, and
Anna Porter - each received $2,000.00. 2008 marks the seventh awarding of the
Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction. The prize, which has
contributed significantly to the growth and recognition of the genre, was
founded to commemorate the life and work of the late Charles Taylor, one of
Canada's foremost essayists and a prominent member of the Canadian literary
    Of the book, the jury said: "In a lively but thorough biography of John
A. Macdonald up to the day of Confederation in 1867, Richard Gwyn brings to
life the young Scottish-born lawyer who found himself unexpectedly entering
politics in Kingston in 1844. Gwyn writes from a twenty-first century
perspective while painting for his readers a vivid image of nineteenth century
Canada: its society, customs, characters and politics. Gwyn helps us
understand Macdonald's genius and vision, which would shape the nation that
grew to the north of the United States." Richard Gwyn is an award-winning
author and political columnist, well known to readers of the Toronto Star and
to TV and radio audiences.
    He is the author of two biographies, The Unlikely Revolutionary on
Newfoundland premier Joey Smallwood and The Northern Magus on Pierre Elliott
Trudeau. His most recent book, Nationalism Without Walls, was selected by the
Literary Review of Canada as one of Canada's one hundred most important books.
    The jurors for the 2008 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction are
Charlotte Gray (Ottawa), J.B. MacKinnon (Vancouver), and The Honourable John
Manley (Ottawa). They selected John A.: The Man Who Made Us: The Life and
Times of John A. Macdonald from among 137 books, submitted by 30 publishers,
from across Canada. Books in the genre of literary non-fiction, published
between November 1, 2006 and October 31, 2007 were eligible for submission if
authored by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and widely available for
purchase in Canada.
    The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are Michael Bradley
(Toronto), Judith Mappin (Montreal), David Staines (Ottawa), and Noreen Taylor
(Toronto). The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is presented by
the Charles Taylor Foundation with the support of their partners: AVFX Audio
Visual Services, Ben McNally Books, BookTelevision, Bravo!, CBC Radio One,
Canada Newswire (CNW), The Globe and Mail, Quill & Quire - Canada's Magazine
of Book News & Reviews, and Windfields Farm. Today's awards ceremony was
broadcast live on CBC Radio One's "Ontario Today" with host Rita Celli.

    To Download high resolution images of the finalists and their books
please go to:

    /NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: A photo accompanying this release is available on
    the CNW Photo Network and archived at
    Additional archived images are also available on the CNW Photo Archive
    website at Images are free to accredited
    members of the media/

For further information:

For further information: Media contact: Stephen Weir & Associates,
Stephen Weir, (416) 489-5868, cell: (416) 801-3101,;
Linda Crane, (905) 257-6033, cell: (416) 727-0112,; June
Dickenson, (647) 477-6000,

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890