Representatives from the Cities of Quinte West and London, and the Municipality of Greenstone Lead 2007/08 OGRA Board

    TORONTO, March 9 /CNW/ - The installation of the 2007/2008 Ontario Good
Roads Association Board of Directors took place during the OGRA/ROMA Combined
Conference last week. New President, Jim Harrison, Councillor, City of Quinte
West, addressed delegates at the closing session on Wednesday, February 28. "I
am very pleased to be speaking to you as the incoming President of OGRA," said
Harrison. "Over the past seven years, I have been part of an association that,
while over 110 years old, seems, in many ways, to just be hitting its prime.
It is my belief that we can, and should, do a better job of advising who OGRA
is and what we have to offer." Mr. Harrison has 16 years of municipal
experience, is a retired elementary school principal, and an Ontario cattle
and cash crop farmer.
    David Leckie, Director of Roads and Transportation, City of London,
became OGRA's 1st Vice President. Mr. Leckie's Engineering career includes 28
years working for MTO in all facets of highway planning, design, construction,
materials, maintenance and policy development. He has been at the City of
London since 1999.
    Eric Rutherford, Councillor, Municipality of Greenstone, became OGRA's
2nd Vice President. Mr. Rutherford served for 25 years as Mayor and Reeve for
the Township of Beardmore, is President and CEO of Beardmore Forest Products
Ltd., and is a retired elementary school principal.

    Other members of the 2007/08 OGRA Board are:
    -   Immediate Past President: Tony Prevedel, Director of Public Works,
        Town of Whitby
    -   Tom Bateman, County Engineer, County of Essex
    -   Rick Champagne, Councillor, Township of East Ferris
    -   John Curley, Councillor, City of Timmins
    -   Dave Fawcett, Deputy Mayor, Municipality of Grey Highlands
    -   Ken Hill, Mayor, Township of Russell
    -   J. Paul Johnson, Operations Manager, County of Wellington
    -   Alan Korell, Director of Public Works, City of North Bay
    -   Gloria Lindsay Luby, Councillor, City of Toronto
    -   Donald J. McDonald, County Engineer, United Counties of Stormont,
        Dundas and Glengarry
    -   John Niedra, Director of Transportation Infrastructure Management,
        City of Toronto
    -   Joanne Vanderheyden, Deputy Mayor, Township of Strathroy-Caradoc

    The Ontario Good Roads Association (OGRA) represents the infrastructure
interests of municipalities through advocacy, consultation, training and the
delivery of identified services. OGRA currently serves 416 municipal members,
21 First Nations communities, and 240 corporate members.

For further information:

For further information: Jayne Patterson, Ontario Good Roads
Association, (905) 795-2555 or

Organization Profile

Ontario Good Roads Association

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890