Reebok-CCM Hockey Advisory Players Clean House at The 2008 NHL Awards Show

    MONTREAL, June 13 /CNW Telbec/ - Reebok-CCM Hockey would like to
congratulate Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils, recent Stanley Cup
winner Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings, Alex Ovechkin of the Washington
Capitals and Vincent Lecavalier of the Tampa Bay Lightning on their
outstanding seasons, which culminated in the reception of individual awards at
the 2008 NHL Awards Show in Toronto, ON.
    CCM's Alex Ovechkin took center spotlight of both the 2007-08 season and
the 2008 NHL Awards Show. Ovechkin brought home a total of 4 trophies, winning
the Lester B. Pearson Award as the League MVP as voted on by the players, the
Art Ross Trophy and Rocket Richard Trophy as the top goal scorer (65 goals)
and point getter (112 points) and finally the Hart Trophy as MVP voted on by
the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. In addition, Ovechkin was also
named to the NHL First All-Star Team. Ovechkin's earned First Team honors in
each of his first three NHL seasons, the first player to do so since the
1952-53 season.
    Veteran Reebok goaltender Martin Brodeur collected the Vezina Trophy as
the NHL's top goaltender for the second consecutive year and fourth of the
last five following another stellar campaign. Brodeur finished with 44 wins,
extending his own NHL record with his seventh career 40-win season. He was
first amongst NHL netminders in minutes played with 4,635, second in victories
and fifth in goals-against average (2.17). Brodeur became just the second
goaltender in NHL history to reach the 500-victory mark with a 6-2 victory
over the Philadelphia Flyers on November 17th.
    For the third consecutive season Pavel Datsyuk was awarded the Lady Byng
Memorial Trophy as the player determined to have exhibited the best type of
sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct, combined with a high standard of
playing ability. Datsyuk led the Detroit Red Wings in scoring for the third
consecutive season setting a career high with 97 points. As a testament to
Pavel's all around play, he was also presented the Frank J. Selke Trophy which
is awarded annually to the NHL's top defensive forward. Datsyuk not only led
the NHL in takeaways with (144) but also finished with the best plus/minus at
    2004 Stanley Cup Champion and CCM's Vincent Lecavalier of the Tampa Bay
Lightning won the King Clancy Trophy given annually to the player who shows
leadership both on and off the ice and contributes to his community. Vincent
Lecavalier donated a $3-million pledge last October to construct a pediatric
cancer and blood disorder center at the All Children's Hospital in
St. Petersburg, FL. Lecavalier was selected as a starter and the captain of
the Eastern Conference All-Star Team for the first time in his career and has
had eight consecutive 20-goal seasons.
    Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf, another Reebok Advisory Team
Member, was the runner-up in voting for the Norris Trophy awarded annually to
the NHL's top defenseman. Phaneuf was named to the NHL First All-Star Team
following an exceptional season that saw him finish second amongst all NHL
defenseman in goals (17) while setting career highs in both assists (43) and
points (60). Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted by representatives of
the Professional Hockey Writers Association at the end of the regular season.

    Reebok-CCM Hockey, a subsidiary of the adidas Group, is headquartered in
Montreal. With operations in Canada, the United States and Europe, the Company
is the world's largest designer, manufacturer and marketer of hockey equipment
and related apparel under two of the most recognized hockey brand names: Rbk
Hockey and CCM Hockey. Reebok-CCM Hockey equips more professional hockey
players than any other company. Reebok-CCM Hockey is also the official
outfitter of the National Hockey League, the American Hockey League, the
Canadian Hockey League and several NCAA and national teams.

For further information:

For further information: Yan Martin, Vice-President Reebok Hockey, (514)
461-8140; Michel Benoit, Vice-President CCM Hockey, (514) 461-8367

Organization Profile

Reebok-CCM Hockey

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890