/R E P E A T -- Photo Op/Media Alert - Noreen Taylor will announce donation of almost 140 books to London, England at IFOA Non-Fiction Night October 31, 2008 8pm in Toronto/

    TORONTO, Oct. 27 /CNW/ -

    What: Onstage presentation of Charles Taylor Prize for Literary
    Non-Fiction books to London - Noreen Taylor, founder of the Prize, will
    present a copy of Richard Gwyn's prize winning book John A.: The Man Who
    Made Us, to John Bonar, Deputy Director Deputy Director Public Diplomacy
    Policy and International Cultural Relations Division Foreign Affairs and
    International Trade Canada and will announce that the 137 books submitted
    for the 2008 prize have been donated to the Canada High Commission in
    London, UK. The books will be used to promote the Canadian book industry
    in the United Kingdom and Europe.

    When: Friday, October 31, 2008; 8:00 p.m. Brigantine Room, York Quay
    Centre, Toronto. The presentation will kick off the second half of the
    International Festival of Authors (IFOA) Non-Fiction Night program,
    immediately following the intermission.

    What: IFOA's Non-Fiction Night - Mainstage Readings by Richard Gwyn,
    winner of the 2008 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction,
    Charlotte Gray, Christopher Dewdney, and M.G. Vassanji.

    Who: Noreen Taylor is the Chairman of the Charles Taylor Foundation. An
    actively involved member of the arts community, she has been an
    exhibiting artist, educator and ongoing supporter of the Arts. She is
    the Vice-President of Windfields Farm Limited, member of many boards and
    the widow of Charles Taylor.

    The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is presented annually
by the Charles Taylor Foundation with the support of its partners: AVFX, Ben
McNally Books, Book TV, Bravo!, Canada Newswire, CBC Radio One, The Globe and
Mail, Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Quill & Quire publications, and
Windfields Farm.

    Previous Winners of the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction:

    2000 Wayne Johnston for Baltimore's Mansion: A Memoir
    2002 Carol Shields for Jane Austen
    2004 Isabel Huggan for Belonging: Home Away from Home
    2005 Charles Montgomery for The Last Heathen: Encounters with Ghosts and
    Ancestors in Melanesia
    2006 J.B. MacKinnon for Dead Man in Paradise
    2007 Rudy Wiebe for Of this Earth: A Mennonite Boyhood in the
    Boreal Forest
    2008 Richard Gwyn for John A.: The Man Who Made Us

    The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are Michael Bradley
(Toronto), Judith Mappin (Montreal), David Staines (Ottawa), and Noreen Taylor

For further information:

For further information: MEDIA CONTACTS: Stephen Weir, Publicist: (416)
489-5868, stephen@stephenweir.com; Linda Crane, Publicist, (905) 257-6033,
cranepr@cogeco.ca; PRIZE CONTACT: June Dickenson, Administrator: (905)
689-0388, junedickenson@cogeco.ca, www.thecharlestaylorprize.ca

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890