/R E P E A T -- Media Alert - Business for the Arts to Announce Awards for Business Leaders in the Arts at an Exclusive Evening Hosted by Torys LLP/

    TORONTO, May 30 /CNW/ -

    WHAT:   artsScene, Business for the Arts' Young Business Professionals
            Group partners with Torys LLP for an exclusive and unique arts
            and business mixer.

            The evening will be held on June 4th, starting at 5:30PM with
            cocktails and announcements of Business for the Arts' 2008 Award

            -  The Edmund C. Bovey Award, given to an outstanding Business
               Leader in the Arts. The Bovey has gone to 17 major business
               philanthropists in the Arts, including Don Johnson, C.M. (2007
               winner), Jim Pitbaldo, O.C., James D. Fleck, O.C., and Israel
            -  The winner of the new Arnold Edinborough Award will be
               announced: celebrating a business volunteer in the Arts under
               age 40.
            -  The Globe and Mail Business for the Arts Award winners will be
               announced: recognizing businesses that have created
               exceptional partnerships with the Arts in Canada.

            Following the announcements, we will invite a panel of
            influential arts and business leaders to the podium to join our
            arts & business symposium. The discussion will focus on the
            benefits of business-arts partnerships. An exclusive tour of
            selections from Torys private art collection, will conclude the

    WHO:    Members on the arts & business symposium include:

            -  Mr. Javier San Juan, L'Oreal Canada's President and CEO;
            -  Richard Balfour, Torys LLP, Partner;
            -  Jeff Melanson, ED & Co-CEO of the National Ballet School;
            -  Marianne McKenna, KPMB, Partner;
               and moderator, Irfhan Rawji, VP of Birch Hill Equity Partners.

            Others scheduled to attend include: members of the Board of
            Business for the Arts (James D. Fleck, O.C, Donald Johnson, C.M,
            Roger Garland and James Pitblado, C.M to name a few), as well as
            this year's winner of the Edmund C. Bovey Award.

    WHEN:   Wednesday, June 4th

            5:30: Cocktail reception
            5:45: Awards announcement
            6:00: Arts and business symposium
            7:00: Private tour of Torys' art collection

    WHERE:  Torys LLP
            79 Wellington Street West, 33rd Floor, Toronto

For further information:

For further information: CONTACT & RSVP: Kaija Corlazzoli, Membership
and Communications Manager, (416) 869-3016, ext. 223,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890