/R E P E A T -- Media Advisory - Media are invited to cover The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction 2009 Author Luncheon & Winner Announcement/

                 Monday, February 9, 11:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
                   Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Toronto

    TORONTO, Feb. 5 /CNW/ -

    What:     The Charles Taylor Prize Author Luncheon celebrates this year's
              finalists and announces the 2009 winner of the country's most
              prestigious non-fiction book prize.

    Where:    Le Meridien King Edward Hotel
              Sovereign Ballroom, Main Level, 37 King St. East, Toronto

    Who:      Honouring the 2009 CTP Finalists:

              Elizabeth Abbott for Sugar: A Bittersweet History

              Tim Cook for Shock Troops: Canadians Fighting the Great War,
              1917-1918 Vol. II

              Ana Siljak for Angel of Vengeance: The 'Girl Assassin', The
              Governor of St. Petersburg, and Russia's Revolutionary World

              Prize Jurors and Prize Spokespersons:
              Warren Cariou, Jeffrey Simpson, Shirley Thomson
              Prize Chair Noreen Taylor & Charles Taylor Prize Foundation

    Why:      The luncheon provides background to this year's short listed
              books. The Prize of $25,000 will be announced between 1:00 pm
              and 2:00 pm

    Established in 2000 to commemorate the life and work of one of Canada's
foremost essayists, the late Charles Taylor; this national book award
recognizes excellence in Canadian writing. Now in its 8th year, the Charles
Taylor Prize is presented annually to a Canadian author whose book best
demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style
and a subtlety of thought and perception. The Prize is a driving force behind
the growth of literary non-fiction, and has been awarded annually since 2004.
The announcement will be carried live on CBC Radio One, Ontario Today with
Rita Celli. For more information visit: www.thecharlestaylorprize.ca.

For further information:

For further information: Please confirm attendance & arrange interview
requests in advance with: Stephen Weir & Associates: Stephen Weir, (416)
489-5868, cell: (416) 801-3101, stephen@stephenweir.com; Linda Crane: (905)
257-6033, cell: (416) 727-0112, cranepr@cogeco.ca

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890