Public Issues. Public Discourse.

    Call for Submissions announced for $35,000 2008 Donner Prize

    TORONTO, Oct. 3 /CNW/ - Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian
Foundation, announced the official Call for Submissions for the eleventh
annual Donner Prize today. In a statement released in Toronto, he says "The
Donner Canadian Foundation is once again looking for the best books on
Canadian public policy. Each year, we are impressed by the thought-provoking
books that are submitted for consideration, and we are certain that 2008 will
no exception. The jury comes back from a summer hiatus and immediately
immerses itself in months of reading to find the best of the best, which
eventually takes the coveted $35,000 prize."
    The Donner Canadian Foundation, one of Canada's largest foundations,
created the prize to encourage increased research into public policy in Canada
and to promote the discussion of policy issues in the public arena. The winner
of the Donner Prize, the award for best book on Canadian public policy, will
receive $35,000, with $5,000 being awarded to the other shortlisted titles (to
a maximum of five titles). In giving this annual award, the Foundation seeks
to not only broaden policy debate, but also to increase general awareness of
the importance of policy discourse. "Until I won the Donner Prize, I had no
idea how many people actually pay attention to public policy matters," said
David E. Smith, winner of the 2007 Donner Prize. "I know now, and it is a
reassuring piece of intelligence."
    Donner Prize winners go on to experience great success. Since being
awarded top prize, Smith's The People's House of Commons has been reprinted
twice - a boon for both author and publisher. "It was thrilling to see such an
important and distinguished author as David Smith get recognized," said Virgil
Duff, University of Toronto Press Executive Editor. "While we have had many
Donner Prize nominees, there is nothing like the breath-taking experience of
hearing a 'winner' announced. The Donner Prize is unparalleled for its
prestige and is coveted by those of us publishing scholarly work in Canada."
    Books submitted for the prize should focus on Canadian public policy
issues, for example: regulatory and legal reform, public finance, the
environment, urban affairs, health care, and education reform. Submissions
must be written by Canadian citizens, but they may be published by
non-Canadian publishing houses, so long as the books have implications for
Canada. For the 2008 prize, books that are written by Canadians in either
English or French, between January 1, and December 31, 2008, are eligible (see for complete rules regarding eligibility and
submission procedures).
    The $35,000 Donner Prize for 2007 was awarded to David E. Smith's THE
Toronto Press). The $5,000 shortlisted titles were: Enter the Babylon System:
Unpacking Gun Culture from Samuel Colt to 50 Cent by Rodrigo Bascunan and
Christian Pearce (Random House Canada), Young Thugs: Inside the Dangerous
World of Canadian Street Gangs by Michael C. Chettleburgh (HarperCollins
Publishers Ltd.), Fueling our Future: An Introduction to Sustainable Energy by
Robert L. Evans (Cambridge University Press), and The Unexpected War: Canada
in Kandahar by Janice Gross Stein and Eugene Lang (Viking Canada).
    The jury for the 2008 Donner Prize is an eminent group of Canadian
academics, business people and former policy makers. The jury will again be
chaired by Grant Reuber, Consultant; Senior Fellow, C.D. Howe Institute;
former Chairman, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation; former President and
Chief Operating Officer and later Deputy Chairman, Bank of Montreal; former
Deputy Minister of Finance for Canada; former Vice-President (Academic),
Provost and later Chancellor of the University of Western Ontario.
    Returning as members of the jury this year are Claude E. Forget,
Consultant and former Minister of Health for the Quebec government; former
Chairman of the Royal Commission on Unemployment Insurance; Peter Harder,
Senior Policy Advisor to Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP; former Deputy Minister of
Foreign Affairs, Associate Deputy Minister (Immigration) for the Department of
Employment and Immigration, Deputy Solicitor General, Deputy Minister of
Citizenship and Immigration, Secretary of the Treasury Board, Comptroller
General for Canada, and Deputy Minister of Industry Canada; The Honourable
Anne McLellan, Bennett Jones LLP; former Liberal Member of Parliament; former
Deputy Prime Minister of Canada, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency
Preparedness, Minister of Health, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of
Canada and Minister of Natural Resources and Federal Interlocutor for Métis
and Non-Status Indians; former Chair of the Operations Committee and the
Security, Public Health and Emergencies Committee; Acting Director of the
University of Alberta's Institute for United States Policy Studies; Denis
Stairs, Professor Emeritus in Political Science at Dalhousie University;
Past-President of the Canadian Political Science Association and founding
Director of the Centre for Foreign Policy Studies; former Vice-President
(Academic and Research) of Dalhousie University.
    The deadline for submissions for this year's prize is November 30. A
shortlist will be announced late March 2009, and the winner will be proclaimed
at a gala dinner in Toronto in April 2009.

For further information:

For further information: Sherry Naylor, Meisner, de Groot & Associates,
Phone: (416) 368-8253, E-mail:,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890