Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts

    McGuinty Government Celebrates Ontario's Artistic Talent

    TORONTO, June 23 /CNW/ -


    Visual artist and sculptor Ron Noganosh and publishing house Coach House
Books received the 2008 Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts tonight.
    Noganosh received the award for individual artist. He will receive
$35,000, and will be asked to identify an emerging artist of the year, who
will receive $15,000. Noganosh is best known for using junk material such as
beer caps, auto parts and old toys to create imaginative, humorous and
thought-provoking art works.
    Coach House Books will be awarded $50,000 as the winner in the Arts
Organization category. One of Canada's foremost small presses, Coach House is
one of only three Canadian publishers to print its books in-house. The press
has nurtured the careers of some of Canada's best-known writers, including
Michael Ondaatje, bpNichol, Nicole Brossard, Christian Bok, Jonathan
Goldstein, Linda Griffiths, Anne Michaels, Michael Redhill and hundreds of
    Ontario's entertainment and creative cluster is a cornerstone of
Ontario's new innovative economy. It employs over 250,000 people - the third
largest number in North America after California and New York - and generates
$19.7 billion of Ontario's Gross Domestic Product (GDP).


    "I want to congratulate the finalists for this year's Premier's Awards
for Excellence in the Arts for the contributions they have made to the arts,
to their communities and to our economy. And I want to thank them for using
their gifts to enrich the quality of our lives," said Premier Dalton McGuinty

    "The nominees for this year's Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts
reflect the depth and diversity and immense talent of Ontario's artistic
community," said Culture Minister Aileen Carroll. "I congratulate this year's
winners and finalists on their remarkable achievements and wish them continued


    -  The finalists in the Individual Artist award category include:
       sculptor and installation artist Ron Noganosh of Ottawa, choreographer
       David Earle of Guelph, contemporary furniture master Michael Fortune
       of Lakefield, writer Afua Cooper and conductor and composer Alex Pauk,
       both from Toronto and visual artist Tim Whiten, also of Toronto.
    -  The finalists in the Arts Organization award category include:
       Toronto-based small press Coach House Books, the Guelph Jazz Festival,
       the Hot Docs documentary festival, based in Toronto, the Ojibwe
       Cultural Foundation in M'Chigeeng, Manitoulin Island and Ottawa-based
       Réseau Ontario, an organization that showcases Francophone culture
       across Ontario, and the Lorraine Kimsa Theatre for Young People, based
       in Toronto.
    -  The Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts are administered by
       the Ontario Arts Council (


    About the McGuinty government's increased support
( for arts and culture
in Ontario.

    View photos and videos from all finalists
( nominated
for the Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts.

                                                      Disponible en français

For further information:

For further information: Alicia Johnston, Minister's Office, (416)
325-1676; Dayo Kefentse, Communications Branch, (416) 314-3497

Organization Profile

Ontario Ministry of Culture

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890