PowerUP Canada Asks All Party Leaders To Respond to Critical Climate Questions

    VANCOUVER, Sept. 17 /CNW/ - In a letter sent today to all five party
leaders, PowerUP Canada is asking all party leaders to respond to six critical
climate questions that build on the widely endorsed climate statement released
last week. The responses, which will be posted on PowerUPCanada.ca, will
enable Canadians to clarify who has the strongest commitment to addressing
global warming.
    "So far in this election we have seen a lot of school yard bickering,
confusing information and name calling," said Tzeporah Berman, Executive
Director of PowerUP Canada. "What we need is a clear indication of which party
will commit to quickly reducing global warming pollution to protect our kids
and our economy."
    Last week, former Prime Ministers Paul Martin, Joe Clark, Kim Campbell
and John Turner joined Stephen Bronfman, the Hon. David Peterson, Prof. David
Keith, Katherine Giroux-Bougard, National Chairperson, Canadian Federation of
Students, Prof. Andrew Weaver from the IPCC and the University of Victoria,
Ken Neumann, National Director for Canada, United Steelworkers, Kashmere
Dahliwal, President of North America's largest Sikh temple and Dr. Marlo
Raynolds from the Pembina Institute, in releasing a statement calling for
urgent action to address global warming in Canada.
    This week former Prime Minister Jean Chretien became the fifth former
Prime Minister to sign the climate statement.
    Olympic gold medalist Adam Kreek also added his voice to the initiative

    PowerUP Canada is a national citizens initiative that provides Canadians
with a positive new climate vision for Canada, non-partisan information about
global warming and a common campaign to amplify citizens' voices, while
clarifying federal parties' and candidates' climate positions.
    Prominent supporters of PowerUP Canada include Rachel McAdams, Kiefer
Sutherland, Neve Campbell, Charles Martin Smith, Dr. Joseph Wong, Founding
National President, Chinese Canadian National Council, Prof. Thomas
Homer-Dixon, Clayton Ruby, Michael Ondaatje, Margaret Atwood, Ann-Marie
MacDonald, Designer Evan Biddell, Moses Znaimer and many more.

For further information:

For further information: For a list of the six questions or for more
information on PowerUP Canada: Tzeporah Berman, executive director of PowerUP
Canada - (604) 313-4713

Organization Profile


More on this organization


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890