Player and Nicklaus announce captain's selections for The Presidents Cup

    Player picks Canadian Weir, Australia's O'Hern; two Presidents Cup
    rookies get nod from Nicklaus

    PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL, Aug. 13 /CNW Telbec/ - The final four players for
next month's Presidents Cup were determined this morning as International Team
Captain Gary Player and U.S. Team Captain Jack Nicklaus each announced their
two captain's selections. Player chose Nick O'Hern from Australia and
Mike Weir, who will be playing The Presidents Cup on home soil in Canada.
Nicklaus selected Lucas Glover and Hunter Mahan, who will both be making their
Presidents Cup debuts.
    The seventh Presidents Cup will be held Sept 27-30 at The Royal Montreal
Golf Club in Montreal, Quebec.
    The top-10 international players (excluding those eligible for the
European Ryder Cup Team) from the Official World Golf Ranking after the
conclusion of the PGA Championship automatically made the International Team.
Stuart Appleby, who was 12th in the International Team standings at the start
of the PGA Championship, secured the final automatic spot after his tie for
12th at Southern Hills. O'Hern finished 11th in the International Team
standings, and Weir finished 20th.
    Weir joins four past President Cup participants who were named captain's
selections after finishing 20th or lower in the standings: Tsukasa Watanabe
(20th, 1994 International Team); Fulton Allem (22nd, 1994 International Team);
Paul Azinger (24th, 2000 U.S. Team); and Trevor Immelman (22nd, 2005
International Team). The 2007 event will mark Weir's fourth-straight
appearance in The Presidents Cup, while O'Hern, one of four Australians on the
International Team, will be playing for the second time.
    The top-10 U.S. players who earned the most official PGA TOUR money from
Aug. 15, 2005, through the PGA Championship (with money earned in 2007
counting as double) automatically made the U.S. Team. Glover was 10th going
into the PGA Championship, but was knocked down to 11th after Woody Austin's
second-place finish at the season's final major vaulted him from 18th to 10th
in the standings for the U.S. Team. Mahan finished 14th in the standings.
    Nicklaus' selection of two Presidents Cup rookies marks only the second
time in the event's history that a U.S. captain has chosen two players with no
previous Presidents Cup experiences (1996 was the first, when Arnold Palmer
picked David Duval and Kenny Perry; statistic does not include 1994, the first
year of the event). Glover and Mahan join Austin and Zach Johnson as
first-time Presidents Cup participants on this year's U.S. Team.

    The final roster of both teams follows:

          International Team                          U.S. Team
    Gary Player, Captain                  Jack Nicklaus, Captain
    Ian Baker-Finch, Captain's Assistant  Jeff Sluman - Captain's Assistant
    Stuart Appleby (Australia)            Woody Austin
    Angel Cabrera (Argentina)             Stewart Cink
    K.J. Choi (South Africa)              Jim Furyk
    Ernie Els (South Africa)              Lucas Glover, Captain's selection
    Retief Goosen (South Africa)          Charles Howell III
    Trevor Immelman (South Africa)        Zach Johnson
    Geoff Ogilvy (Australia)              Hunter Mahan, Captain's selection
    Nick O'Hern (Australia),              Phil Mickelson
     Captain's selection
    Rory Sabbatini (South Africa)         Steve Stricker
    Adam Scott (Australia)                David Toms
    Vijay Singh (Fiji)                    Scott Verplank
    Mike Weir (Canada),                   Tiger Woods
     Captain's selection

    The combined record of the 10 International Team members with past
Presidents Cup experience (Ogilvy and Sabbatini are competing for the first
time) is 54-56-14, and those 10 players have made a total of 26 Presidents Cup
appearances. The combined record of the eight U.S. Team members with previous
Presidents Cup experience is 43-44-12, and they account for 21 Presidents Cup
appearances. Vijay Singh and Phil Mickelson are the only two players in this
year's event who have competed in all six previous Presidents Cups.

    The Presidents Cup, a team match play competition featuring 24 of the
world's top golfers - 12 from the United States and 12 from around the world,
excluding Europe - is held every two years, and since 1996 has alternated
between United States and international venues. The Presidents Cup was
developed to give the world's best non-European players an opportunity to
compete in international team match-play competition. The U.S. Team has won
four of the six previous Presidents Cups, and the only outright win by the
International Team came at the 1998 event in Melbourne. The 2003 Presidents
Cup ended in a tie.
    A limited amount of tickets for the 2007 Presidents Cup remain for
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Sunday, and a limited number of
corporate hospitality tables are also available. For more information on
remaining tickets or corporate hospitality tables, patrons can visit or call 1-877-PREZ-CUP (773-9287).

For further information:

For further information: Laura Neal, PGA TOUR, Director of
Communications, Championship Management, (904) 273-7655,; Alison Neill, Optimum Public Relations, (514)

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890