Penguin to publish Scotiabank Giller Prize Anthology: 15 years of prize-winning fiction

    TORONTO, Oct. 30 /CNW/ - Penguin Group (Canada) today announced it will
publish The Scotiabank Giller Prize: 15 Years of Prize-Winning Fiction in 2008
to mark the 15th Anniversary of the Giller Prize.
    Penguin Group (Canada) is recognized as the country's pre-eminent
publisher of literary anthologies, and on its list of critically acclaimed
bestsellers, has recently published The Penguin Book of Summer Stories (edited
by Alberto Manguel), The Penguin Book of Canadian Short Stories (edited by
Jane Urquhart), The Penguin Book of Crime Stories (edited by Peter Robinson),
and The Penguin Book of Women's Stories (edited by Lisa Moore).
    To this prestigious list, Penguin now adds the most glamorous of
anthologies, The Scotiabank Giller Prize: 15 Years of Prize-Winning Fiction.
The book was conceived by Penguin Editorial Director Andrea Magyar, warmly
embraced by Giller Prize founder Jack Rabinovitch and presented to lead
sponsor Scotiabank in the summer of 2007.
    Said David Davidar, President & Publisher, Penguin Group (Canada): "We're
delighted to be the publishers of the Giller anthology, I can't think of a
better way to highlight Penguin Canada's commitment to the cause of quality
Canadian fiction than to be associated in this way with the founders, winners
and sponsors of the country's pre-eminent literary prize."
    The Scotiabank Giller Prize: 15 Years of Prize-Winning Fiction will
feature a chapter or short story from this year's Giller finalists, announced
October 9, 2007, and a chapter or short story from past winners from the years
1994 - 2007.
    "We were so impressed with Penguin's proposal to create an anthology
dedicated to the Scotiabank Giller Prize writers," commented Jack Rabinovitch,
founder of the Scotiabank Giller Prize. "They're a major publishing house with
a small publisher mentality - independent, spirited, creative and
unconventional. We're proud to be associated with them in this new and
exciting endeavour which will ensure that this prize-winning fiction endures
well into the future."
    "Scotiabank is proud to support the Penguin Group anthologies and
reinforce our commitment to the proud legacy of Canada's most coveted literary
prize," said Rick Waugh, President and Chief Executive Officer, Scotiabank.
"Literature is a cornerstone of artistic expression in Canada and we are proud
to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments and aspirations of our fiction
    Works to be included in the first anthology include M.G. Vassanji, The
Book of Secrets (1994), Rohinton Mistry, A Fine Balance (1995), Margaret
Atwood, Alias Grace (1996), Mordecai Richler, Barney's Version (1997), Alice
Munro, The Love of a Good Woman (1998), Bonnie Burnard, A Good House (1999),
Michael Ondaatje, Anil's Ghost (2000), David Adams Richards, Mercy Among the
Children (2000), Richard B. Wright, Clara Callan (2001), Austin Clarke, The
Polished Hoe (2002), M.G. Vassanji, The In-Between World of Vikram Lall
(2003), Alice Munro, Runaway (2004), David Bergen, The Time in Between (2005),
Vincent Lam, Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures (2006) and the 2007 Giller Prize
Winner, to be announced November 6.

    The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $40,000 annually to the author of the
best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $2,500
to each of the finalists. The Scotiabank Giller Prize is named in honour of
the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her
husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

    Scotiabank is committed to supporting the communities in which we live
and work, both in Canada and abroad. Recognized as a leader internationally
and among Canadian corporations for its charitable donations and philanthropic
activities, in 2006 the Bank provided more than $42 million in sponsorships
and donations to a variety of projects and initiatives, primarily in the areas
of healthcare, education, social services and arts and culture. Scotiabank is
on the World Wide Web at

    Founded in 1974 as a distribution company for Penguin books from all over
the world, Penguin Group (Canada) began publishing Canadian and international
titles in 1977, and quickly became known as one of Canada's pre-eminent
publishers of literary, thought-provoking fiction, and non-fiction. Penguin
Group (Canada) proudly publishes a wide range of Canadian and international
authors including Margaret MacMillan, Adrienne Clarkson, John Ralston Saul,
Stuart McLean, Will Ferguson, Khaled Hosseini, Zadie Smith, Michael Winter and
Joseph Boyden.

For further information:

For further information: Elana Rabinovitch, PROPAGANDA INK, (416)
934-0755 Direct, (416) 275-5418 Mobile,; Joe Konecny,
Public Affairs, Scotiabank, (416) 933-1795 Direct, (416) 791-1159 Mobile,; Yvonne Hunter, Director, Publicity and
Marketing, Penguin Group (Canada), (416) 928-2409 (Direct), (416) 471-4973

Organization Profile

Penguin Group (Canada)

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890