Past president Patrick Jarvis inducted at opening of new Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame Display

    CALGARY, Sept. 10 /CNW Telbec/ - Paralympian Patrick Jarvis was inducted
into the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame today at the same time as a
permanent display honoring all inductees was unveiled at the Olympic Hall of
Fame and Museum at Calgary's Canada Olympic Park.
    The Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame Display is a year-round tribute to
the athletes, coaches and builders who have helped advance the Paralympic
Movement in Canada. The Hall of Fame display compliments an existing Canadian
Paralympic exhibit in the museum.
    "Patrick is not only a former elite-level athlete, but also a current
mentor and leader whose contributions to the Paralympic Movement are lengthy.
It is with great pleasure that I introduce Patrick as the latest inductee into
the Paralympic Hall of Fame," said David Legg, vice-president of the Canadian
Paralympic Committee who spearheaded the development of the Hall of Fame
    Jarvis served on the board of the Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC)
from 1992 to 2006, and was president from 1999 until he joined the governing
board of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) in 2006.
    He continues to represent the CPC on the board of directors of the
Vancouver Olympic and Paralympic Games Organizing Committee (VANOC), and was
most recently appointed by IPC to sit on the London 2012 Games Coordination
    Jarvis competed at the 1992 Barcelona Paralympic Games and served as Chef
de Mission for the Canadian team at the 1998 Nagano Paralympic Games and was
an official CPC representative at the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games and the
Salt Lake City 2002 Paralympic Games.
    He was also a member of the first National Sport Advisory Committee to
the Secretary of State for Amateur Sport and the 2010 Bid Corporation Board of
    "When the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame was initiated in 2000 it
consisted primarily of a ceremony. The display provides a more lasting tribute
to all the great Canadians who have made a difference for sport for people
with a physical disability," added Legg.
    The founding president of the International Paralympic Committee, Dr.
Robert Steadward, an Edmonton resident who was the first inductee into the
Hall of Fame, presented a special plaque to Jarvis during the induction

    Inductions into the Hall of Fame are now made every two years in
non-Games years in the categories of athlete, coach and builder. Other
inductees include Steadward, Robert Jackson, Rick Hansen, Jerry Johnston,
Eugene Reimer, Arnold Boldt, Joanne Berdan, Duncan Campbell and André Viger.

For further information:

For further information: Gabrielle Payette, Canadian Paralympic
Committee, (613) 569-4333, ext. 225,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890