OSSTF delegates elect new leaders

    TORONTO, March 11 /CNW/ - Six hundred delegates gathered at the Sheraton
Centre Toronto Hotel for the annual meeting of the Ontario Secondary School
Teachers' Federation (OSSTF) and elected new leaders to represent the
60,000-member educational union.
    Elected were Ken Coran, president; Paul Elliott, vice president; Jack
Jones, vice president; Sheila Vandenberk, treasurer; Harvey Bischof, executive
officer; Susan Rab, executive officer; and Sandra Sahli, executive officer.

    Ken Coran, a science teacher from West Lorne, Ontario and former local
teacher bargaining unit president in OSSTF District 11, Thames Valley, was
acclaimed as the provincial president of OSSTF. He was first elected to the
Provincial Executive as executive officer in 2001 and as vice president in

    Paul Elliott, a teacher from Fort Frances High School, was first elected
to the Provincial Executive as executive officer in 2005 and as a result of
this year's election will serve as vice president until 2009.

    Jack Jones, re-elected as vice president, was president and chief
negotiator of the plant support staff bargaining unit of the OSSTF
District 25, Ottawa-Carleton. He was first elected to the Provincial Executive
as executive officer in 2003 and then as vice president in 2005.

    Sheila Vandenberk, a mathematics teacher from the former North York Board
of Education, was re-elected to the OSSTF Provincial Executive as treasurer, a
post she has held since 1999. At the local level as a union activist,
Vandenberk served as vice president of the OSSTF District 12, Toronto
bargaining unit.

    Harvey Bischof, an English teacher with the Durham Region School Board,
was elected to the Provincial Executive as an executive officer. Locally, he
has served as district president of the OSSTF in District 13, Durham.

    Susan Rab, elected as executive officer, is a teacher of history and
geography at Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School in Orléans. At the local
level, Rab was Ottawa-Carleton teacher bargaining unit and district president
from 2002 to 2006.

    Sandra Sahli, a child and youth worker with the Greater Essex County
District School Board, was re-elected as executive officer. Locally, Sahli has
served as president of the educational support staff bargaining unit in OSSTF
District 9, Greater Essex as well as District 9's chief negotiator.

    The new leaders were elected for a two-year term and will commence their
duties as members of OSSTF's Provincial Executive in June, 2007.

    OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They
include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational
assistants, continuing education instructors, psychologists, secretaries,
speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel,
attendance counsellors, and many others in education.

For further information:

For further information: Pierre Côté, Director, Communications/Political
Action, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation, (416) 459-1774 (Cell),
(416) 460-7562 (Cell - OSSTF Media Room, Sheraton Centre Toronto)

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890