Order of Ontario appointments announced

    TORONTO, Jan. 15 /CNW/ -


    Former Premier David Peterson, former Chief Justice Patrick LeSage, human
rights activist George Brady, former Olympic figure skater Barbara Ann
Scott-King, medical researcher Dr. Michael Baker and publisher Ellen Seligman
are among the new appointees to the Order of Ontario.
    The black tie investiture ceremony into the Order will take place at
Queen's Park on January 22, 2009.

    Named to the Order of Ontario are:

    -  Dr. Michael Baker of Toronto, a leading researcher whose work has led
       to a better understanding of leukemia and other cancers.

    -  George Brady of Toronto, a human rights advocate, public speaker and
       Auschwitz survivor, whose family story has been immortalized in the
       book Hana's Suitcase.

    -  Jack Chiang of Kingston, a journalist and author who has engaged in
       extensive community service work.

    -  Tony Dean of Toronto, who, as Secretary of the Cabinet, transformed
       the Ontario Public Service.

    -  Mary Louise Dickson of Toronto, a lawyer, educator and advocate for
       people with disabilities.

    -  Noel Edison of Elora, the conductor of the Elora Singers, a national
       professional Choir and the conductor of the Mendelssohn Choir.

    -  Frank Fernandes of Toronto, a businessman and volunteer with
       organizations such as the Toronto Police Service and St. John

    -  The Honourable Jean Robert Gauthier of Ottawa, for his work in
       community service and in particular for his work in advancing
       French-language education.

    -  Heather Gibson of Milton, one of the foremost Canadian educators
       specializing in American Sign Language (ASL) Bilingual Education and
       ASL Language Arts Curriculum and the first linguistically and
       culturally Deaf principal in Ontario.

    -  Robert A. Gordon of Toronto, an educator and leader in the community
       college movement. He served as president of Humber College for
       25 years.

    -  Gordon Cecil Gray of Richmond Hill, businessman and philanthropist.
       His community service includes chairing fundraising campaigns that
       have raised millions of dollars for health care and education.

    -  Susan Hoeg of Georgina Island for her community service contributions,
       particularly on behalf of the Chippewas of Georgina Island.

    -  Claude Lamoureux of Toronto, a champion of ethical business practice,
       expert in financial services and former president and chief executive
       officer of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan.

    -  The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage of Toronto, distinguished lawyer and
       former Chief Justice for the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

    -  Dr. Joe MacInnis of Toronto, internationally renowned physician,
       scientist and undersea explorer. His research made it possible to work
       in the deep ocean.

    -  Dr. David H. MacLennan of Toronto for his contribution to the field of
       science. A biomedical scientist, he is an international expert in
       biochemistry, genetics and physiology of muscle function.

    -  Lorna Marsden of Toronto, an administrator and former senator for her
       contribution to academia and public service.

    -  The Honourable David Peterson of Toronto, a lawyer and former premier
       of Ontario recognized for his public service and community service

    -  Ed Ratushny for his contributions to education and law. He is an
       expert on the Canadian judiciary.

    -  Rosemary Sadlier of Toronto, an author and president of the Ontario
       Black History Society, for her contributions to literature and
       community service.

    -  Dr. Fuad Sahin of Niagara-on-the-Lake, for his contributions to
       community service. He is the founder of the International Development
       and Relief Foundation.

    -  Barbara Ann Scott-King of Florida, former Olympic figure skater, for
       her contributions to Canadian sport.

    -  Ellen Seligman of Toronto for her contributions to publishing and her
       support of Canadian authors. Her books and authors have won
       recognition and prizes in Canada and abroad, including The Giller
       Prize and The Booker Prize.

    -  Peter Guy Silverman of Toronto, for aiding thousands of people through
       his program Silverman Helps, the longest running advocacy program in

    -  David Smith of Ottawa, for his philanthropic contributions which have
       raised millions of dollars for charity.

    -  Ted Szilva of Sudbury, the originator and developer of the Big Nickel
       Project, a world-famous tourist attraction that gives visitors the
       opportunity to learn about mining. He continues to be a community

    -  Mary Welsh of Brantford, being recognized for her 35 years of
       community and civic contributions.

    -  Peter George, an appointee from 2007, will also be invested with his
       medal in the January 22 ceremony.


    "I am pleased to invest some of our province's most deserving citizens
into the Order of Ontario," said the Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant
Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario. "This
distinguished honour is bestowed on those who have gone above and beyond,
those who have demonstrated excellence in various fields of endeavour."

    "The Order of Ontario is a wonderful opportunity to honour people who
have made an outstanding contribution to our province," said the Honourable
Warren Winkler, Chief Justice of Ontario and Chair of the Order of Ontario
Advisory Council. "The recipients exemplify the diversity of strengths and
interests of the people of Ontario."


    -  The Order of Ontario is the highest honour bestowed upon individuals
       by the province and recognizes excellence in any field of endeavour.

    -  Nominations are made by members of the general public. The annual
       deadline for nominations is March 16.

    -  An Advisory Council reviews the nominations, and makes recommendations
       to the Lieutenant Governor in Council regarding appointments to the


    -  For additional information on the Order of Ontario including how to
       nominate someone for the province's highest honour visit:

    Disponible en français

For further information:

For further information: Colin Lemoine, Communications, (416) 314-7010;
Ms. Nanda Casucci-Byrne, Office of the Lieutenant Governor, (416) 325-7780

Organization Profile

Ontario Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890