Ontario Heritage Trust Celebrates Community Volunteers

    TORONTO, April 23 /CNW/ - The Ontario Heritage Trust is honouring over
290 people across the province through its annual Heritage Community
Recognition Program, which helps communities recognize volunteers for
significant contributions to built, cultural and natural heritage
preservation, as well as heritage garden conservation.
    "I'm pleased to see more of Ontario's dedicated volunteers recognized for
their work to preserve local heritage," said The Honourable Lincoln M.
Alexander, Chairman of the Ontario Heritage Trust. "Their efforts enrich and
strengthen our communities, and build pride in our province."
    This year's honorees include 12 recipients of the new Lieutenant
Governor's Ontario Heritage Award for Lifetime Achievement. This award
recognizes individuals for sustained volunteer contributions to preserving,
protecting and promoting community heritage over a period of 25 years or more.
    "These volunteers are helping to preserve the unique character of our
communities and improve our quality of life," said Caroline Di Cocco, Minister
of Culture. "I'm delighted that local governments have taken this opportunity
to recognize them for contributions to heritage conservation."
    Since the Heritage Community Recognition Program was introduced in 1996,
over 2,700 Ontarians have been honoured for local heritage preservation
activities. This program complements the Trust's Young Heritage Leaders
program, which recognizes volunteers under 18 for contributions to heritage

    The Ontario Heritage Trust - the province's lead heritage agency - is
dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting Ontario's
built, cultural and natural heritage for the benefit of present and future

    For more information about the recipients or the presentation event in
your community, contact the office of the nominating municipal council,
regional council, First Nation band council or Métis community council. A list
of the nominating councils for this year's recipients is attached.

                         Aussi disponible en français

    2006 Heritage Community Recognition Program recipients were nominated by
the following councils:

    -   Alberton (Township of)              -   Oshawa (City of)
    -   Assiginack (Township of)            -   Ottawa (City of)
    -   Aurora (Town of)                    -   Perth (Town of)
    -   Brantford (City of)                 -   Petawawa (Town of)
    -   Caledon (Town of)                   -   Peterborough (City of)
    -   Central Elgin                       -   Petrolia (Town of)
        (Municipality of)
    -   Chatham-Kent                        -   Plummer Additional
        (Municipality of)                      (Township of)
    -   Clarington (Municipality of)        -   Ramara (Township of)
    -   Collingwood (Town of)               -   Richmond Hill (Town of)
    -   Douro-Dummer (Township of)          -   Rideau Lakes (Township of)
    -   East Hawkesbury (Township of)       -   Ryerson (Township of)
    -   Elizabethtown-Kitley                -   Sarnia (City of)
        (Township of)
    -   Erin (Town of)                      -   Scugog (Township of)
    -   Halton (Regional                    -   Severn (Township)
         Municipality of)
    -   Hamilton (City of)                  -   Shelburne (Town of)
    -   Hilliard (Township of)               -   Smith-Ennismore-Lakefield
                                                (Township of)
    -   Kenora (City of)                    -   Smooth Rock Falls (Town of)
    -   King (Township of)                  -   South Stormont (Township of)
    -   Lake of Bays (Township of)          -   Springwater (Township of)
    -   Loyalist Township                   -   Thessalon (Town of)
    -   Marmora and Lake                    -   Vaughan (City of)
         (Municipality of)                  -   Waterloo (City of)
    -   Mississauga (City of)               -   Waterloo (Regional
                                                  Municipality of)
    -   Mississippi Mills (Town of)         -   West Perth (Municipality of)
    -   Niagara Falls (City of)             -   Whitchurch-Stouffville
                                                (Town of)
    -   North Dumfries (Township of)
    -   North Glengarry (Township of)

For further information:

For further information: Catrina Colme, Marketing and Communications
Coordinator, Ontario Heritage Trust, Telephone: (416) 325-5074, E-mail:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890