Nova Scotia Teachers Union - Media Advisory

    HALIFAX, June 5 /CNW/ - Teachers, Nova Scotia Community College faculty
and professional support staff are voting in a run-off election for the
presidency of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union today, June 5. Voting by the
10,900 members of the NSTU is again being conducted electronically. Polls
opened at 6:00 a.m. and will close at 8:00 p.m.
    Under the Teachers' Collective Bargaining Act, all NSTU members employed
on the designated voting day are eligible to vote, including members on
educational or deferred salary leave, or active reserve members. Substitute
teachers and auxiliary members employed on election day are also eligible to
vote. All eligible voters may do so by proxy. Because the vote is being
conducted electronically, members have the option of voting at the worksite,
from home or from any Internet-connected computer.
    Alexis Allen, current president of the Halifax County Local, and Eric
Boutilier, provincial executive member from Colchester-East Hants, are
candidates for the second ballot. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate
must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).
    Three members on the first ballot held May 26, Russell Comeau, Jack
Toomey and Simon Wilkin have been dropped from the slate.
    The NSTU will announce the results of the vote before midnight, June 5,
barring any unforeseen technical issues.

For further information:

For further information: Paul McCormick, (902) 477-5621

Organization Profile

Nova Scotia Teachers Union

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890