Nickelback scores a hat trick on CTV's broadcast of the 2009 JUNO Awards

    It was a night full of surprise performances, special appearances by
    Canadian music royalty and celebration of 2009 JUNO Award winners

    VANCOUVER, March 29 /CNW/ - THE 2009 JUNO AWARDS on CTV rocked Vancouver
tonight during one of the most star-studded events in Canadian music.
Nickelback cranked up the show with an incredibly pyrotechnic opening number;
and it was clear from the start that it would be a night to remember for the
6X platinum-selling rock group. With a No. 1 selling album, Dark Horse,
Nickelback received the JUNO Award for Album of the Year (sponsored by
Canadian Recording Industry Association), Group of the Year and the Juno Fan
Choice Award (presented by Pepsi).

    Highlights from the broadcast are now available on demand on The CTV
Broadband Network at As well, MuchMoreMusic presents an encore
broadcast of THE 2009 JUNO AWARDS on Thursday, April 2 at 8 p.m. ET.
    The CTV broadcast was hosted for the second year in a row by comedian
Russell Peters, who first appeared in a Bollywood/Breakdancing number and then
went on to skewer musicians in the audience, from Loverboy and Sarah McLachlan
to Bryan Adams and Michael Bublé.

    One after another, Canada's biggest names and most exciting recording
artists graced The JUNO Awards stage to the delight of a packed audience at
Vancouver's General Motors Place. Presenters included Aaron Pritchett, Feist,
Hedley, k.d lang and Kreesha Turner as well as a rare appearance by music's
power-couple Elvis Costello and Diana Krall, who together presented the last
JUNO Award of the evening.

    Seven JUNO Award statuettes were bestowed throughout the night including
a win for indie-pop sensation Lights for New Artist of the Year (sponsored by
FACTOR and Canada's Private Radio Broadcasters), and rap/reggae chameleon
Kardinal Offishall for Rap Recoding of the Year, taking home a second award
after a previous win for Single of the Year at yesterday's JUNO Gala Dinner &

    The house erupted with applause when surprise guest Gordon Downie of The
Tragically Hip joined newly minted Songwriter of the Year (sponsored by SIRIUS
Satellite Radio) Dallas Green for an unforgettable performance of "Sleeping

    The night was full of unique collaborations counting a triple threat
segment by three of Canada's hottest young stars Crystal Shawanda, Divine
Brown and Serena Ryder who each performed their smash singles. Music icon
Bryan Adams sang "Walk On By" with the help of JUNO Award nominee Kathleen
Edwards on violin. As well, Canadian folk-rockers Great Big Sea teamed up with
Hawksley Workman and world music group Eccodek for a show-stopping closing
number and one of a kind musical experience.

    Other electrifying performances came from Sam Roberts who tonight
received the JUNO Award for Artist of the Year and yesterday for Rock Album of
the Year, Sarah McLachlan, Simple Plan and The Stills, who won two JUNO Awards
last night for New Group of the Year (sponsored by FACTOR and Canada's Private
Radio Broadcasters) and Alternative Album of the Year.

    Famed music producer Bob Rock honoured 80s rock icon Loverboy during a
special presentation. Members Mike Reno, Paul Dean, Doug Johnson, Matt
Frenette, the late Scott Smith and Ken "Spider" Sinnaeve are the newest
inductees to the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Alongside multiple hit albums
and more than 20 million records sold worldwide, Loverboy is perhaps best
known for the resonating party anthem "Everybody's Working For The Weekend."

    And what a weekend it was in Vancouver! Tonight's CTV broadcast of THE
2009 JUNO AWARDS was the fantastical culmination of a four-day celebration of
Canadian music that was packed with musical highlights, festivities, concerts
and events.

    For a complete list of 2009 JUNO Award winners in all 39 categories, go
to or

    Broadcast in high definition and 5.1 surround sound and hosted by Russell
Peters, it's the eighth year in a row that The JUNO Awards aired on CTV, the
Official Broadcast partner of The JUNO Awards. Since CTV joined forces with
CARAS in 2002, The JUNO Awards have traveled across Canada, bringing a live,
electrified stadium show to millions of Canadians. CTV has broadcast The JUNO
Awards from St. John's (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg
(2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007) and Calgary (2008). The 2010 JUNO
Awards will be broadcast once again from St. John's, NL.

    THE 2009 JUNO AWARDS is produced by Insight Productions in association
with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS).
Executive producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight
Productions and Melanie Berry and Stephen Stohn for CARAS. Louise Wood is
Producer and Donna Luke is Line Producer. Susanne Boyce is President,
Creative, Content and Channels, CTV Inc.

    Broadcast sponsors for THE 2009 JUNO AWARDS are Garnier, Pepsi, Pontiac
and Rogers.

    Sponsors of THE 2009 JUNO AWARDS include FACTOR, Canada's Private Radio
Broadcasters and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian
Heritage's "Canada Music Fund," The Province of British Columbia, The City of
Vancouver, Music BC and Radio Starmaker Fund.

    About CARAS:
    The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences/L'academie canadienne
des arts et des sciences de l'enregistrement (CARAS) is a not-for-profit
organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music and recording
industries and to contribute toward higher artistic and industry standards.
The main focus of CARAS is the exploration and development of opportunities to
showcase and promote Canadian artists and music through vehicles such as The
JUNO Awards. For more information on The 38th Annual JUNO Awards or The
Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) please visit our
websites at and

    About CTV:
    CTV, Canada's largest private broadcaster, offers a wide range of quality
news, sports, information, and entertainment programming. It has the
number-one national newscast, CTV NATIONAL NEWS WITH LLOYD ROBERTSON, and is
the number-one choice for prime-time viewing. CTVglobemedia Inc. is Canada's
premier multi-media company which owns CTV Inc. and The Globe and Mail. CTV
Inc. also owns radio stations across the country, and leading national
specialty channels. Other CTVglobemedia investments include an interest in
Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment Ltd., and in Dome Productions, a North
American leader in the provision of mobile high definition production
facilities. More information about CTV may be found on the company website at

    Web Links:
    CTV's JUNO Awards website:
    Official JUNO Awards website:
    CARAS website:

For further information:

For further information: about THE 2009 JUNO AWARDS broadcast, contact:
Amanda Rinaldo, CTV Inc., (416) 384-5325 or; Allie Page,
CTV Inc., (416) 384-4596 or; For general information about
THE 2009 JUNO AWARDS, contact: Tiffany Astle, Holmes Creative Communications,
(416) 628-5603 or; Chris McDowall, Holmes Creative
Communications, (416) 628-5648 or

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890