New Taxi Drivers Union Elects First Leadership Group

HAMILTON, ON, June 29, 2011 /CNW/ - Members of the newly established Ontario Taxi Workers Union (OTWU) have elected Ejaz Butt as union President and other key leaders to senior executive positions. The OTWU, which represents drivers employed by Hamilton Cab and Blue Line, was certified by the Ontario Labour Relations Board earlier this month, becoming the largest cab drivers' union in the province.

In addition to the decisive victory for Mr. Butt and his executive team, union members also voted strongly to give their leaders a mandate to obtain labour movement services and support as the OTWU moves into collective bargaining. "Members have sent a message to Blue Line and Hamilton Cab management. We are united and ready for tough first negotiations towards a fair first contract," said Mr. Butt.

"Drivers also overwhelmingly endorsed a motion for us to get started on setting up the services we need. I am excited to talk with the United Steelworkers given their experience here in Hamilton and in organizing the taxi industry. Our members understand we need that kind of strength and support to get the things we want in our collective agreement." The OTWU's Elections Committee worked hard to ensure the union's membership was confident the election process was fair and transparent. That goal was accomplished.

"Now the employers will understand who they are dealing with," said Reza Housseinoun of the Toronto iTaxiworkers association, who was one of the committee members overseeing the election. "This union is ready for the next challenges and I hope everyone will work together to accomplish their common goals." The OTWU executive announced it will immediately start working on next steps to move the process of negotiations forward and will soon announce a date for its first general membership meeting.

The members of the new OTWU executive are:

President - Ejaz Butt
Vice-President - Faheem Shahid
General Secretary - Jamie MacArthur
Treasurer - Mohammad Idrish

Hamilton Cab Directors: Omar Drissi, Mohamud Iman, Ajmal Khan, Wasim Khan, Annie Lovas.

Blue Line Directors: Asif Abbas, Magdi Fadl, Nadeem Muhammad, Mahmood Ali Naimpoor, Habibullah Khan Niazi.

SOURCE Ontario Taxi Workers Union

For further information:

Media Contact: Jacob Leibovitch, 647-885-8294

Organization Profile

Ontario Taxi Workers Union

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890