New IT Governance Credential From ISACA Meets Growing Business Demands

    ROLLING MEADOWS, ILL., August 23 /CNW/ - To support the growing business
demands related to IT governance, promote IT governance good practices and
recognize skilled IT governance professionals, the nonprofit, international
professional association ISACA has developed a new certification: Certified in
the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT).

    Supported by the IT Governance Institute (ITGI) and built on ITGI's
intellectual property and input from subject matter experts from around the
world, the CGEIT designation focuses on the five areas of IT
governance--strategic alignment, resource management, risk management,
performance measurement and value delivery--as well as on frameworks that
provide support for IT governance (e.g., COBIT and ITIL). It is designed for
professionals who have a significant management, advisory or assurance role
relating to the governance of IT and who wish to be recognized for their IT
governance-related experience and knowledge.

    "IT has become vital to the achievement of enterprise goals and delivery
of benefits, and executives have realized that enterprise governance must be
extended to IT as well," said Howard Nicholson, chair of the CGEIT
Certification Board. "ISACA performed extensive research and determined that
there is a sound business need for a certification that recognizes expertise
in the field of IT governance and helps enterprises identify and hire
professionals who have IT governance knowledge and experience."

    To earn the CGEIT certification, applicants must prove at least five
years of experience supporting the governance of an enterprise's information
technology and must pass the CGEIT exam. The first CGEIT exam will be
administered in December 2008. A grandfathering program, through which
individuals who are highly experienced in the governance of IT may apply for
the certification without taking the exam, is now available and can be viewed

    The CGEIT designation is the third certification offered by ISACA. In
1978, ISACA established the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)
designation, which has been earned by more than 50,000 professionals since
inception. In 2002, the CISM certification was introduced. It has since been
earned by more than 6,500 professionals. Both designations are accredited by
the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and are consistently rated
among the highest-value certifications by independent consultancy Foote
Partners LLC.

    About ISACA

    With more than 65,000 members in more than 140 countries, ISACA
( is a recognized worldwide leader in IT governance, control,
security and assurance. Founded in 1969, ISACA sponsors international
conferences; publishes the Information Systems Control Journal; develops
international information systems auditing and control standards; and
administers the CISA, CISM and CGEIT certifications.

    About ITGI

    The nonprofit, independent IT Governance Institute (ITGI) (
was established in 1998 to advance international thinking and standards in
directing and controlling an enterprise's information technology. ITGI
developed COBIT and Val IT, and offers original research and case studies to
assist enterprise leaders and boards of directors in their IT governance

For further information:

For further information: ISACA Kristen Kessinger, +1.847.590.7455, Deborah Vohasek, +1.847.590.7466,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890